getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Go down

getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  racinray on June 29th 2012, 7:09 pm

She has not been cranked since September.Nor raced in two years springs were nearly new then very few passes.Changing oil and cleaning filter before start up.Any suggestions or things I should consider?Will the valve springs be OK?Most of the guys on here already know me but for the ones that don't this is a A Headed motor with 4.5 bore and 4.3 stroke single dominator on alcohol 900-1000 HP.Best cool air pass was 5.21 at 130 mph

racinray

Posts : 22
Join date : 2012-06-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  Barney on June 29th 2012, 7:11 pm

racinray wrote:She has not been cranked since September.Nor raced in two years springs were nearly new then very few passes.Changing oil and cleaning filter before start up.Any suggestions or things I should consider?Will the valve springs be OK?Most of the guys on here already know me but for the ones that don't this is a A Headed motor with 4.5 bore and 4.3 stroke single dominator on alcohol 900-1000 HP.Best cool air pass was 5.21 at 130 mph
I would check the springs and re lube everything.
avatar
Barney

Posts : 2577
Join date : 2009-12-02
Age : 43
Location : Kirkland, Il

View user profile http://www.hdraracingseries.com

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  richter69 on June 29th 2012, 7:34 pm

go through the carb and fuel system real good.
avatar
richter69

Posts : 13645
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 47
Location : In the winners circle

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  res0rli9 on June 29th 2012, 7:37 pm

richter69 wrote:go through the carb and fuel system real good.

And clean the gas tank if it still had gas in it. The gas now will go bad after one month.

res0rli9
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 3337
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 68
Location : sarasota FL.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  jbozzelle on June 29th 2012, 7:55 pm

Welcome back Ray. Good to see you at the race. I'd prelube everything real good, clean the carb and make sure the fuel system is OK and didn't corrode with the alky and let her rip.

jbozzelle

Posts : 3580
Join date : 2009-08-10
Age : 44
Location : New Orleans

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  bruno on June 29th 2012, 9:20 pm

is this the yellow car ? welcome back Ray
avatar
bruno
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 10611
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 45
Location : MILLBROOK , AL.

View user profile http://WWW.CKRME.COM

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  61coon on June 29th 2012, 11:10 pm

bruno wrote:is this the yellow car ? welcome back Ray

Yes it is Bruno. If you can, post up some pics Ray. It was good to see you and hang out at the track last weekend. Looks like the racing got you fired up.---RED

avatar
61coon

Posts : 1817
Join date : 2009-08-07
Age : 41
Location : Hillsboro,TN

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  IDT-572 on June 29th 2012, 11:21 pm

Glad to see you on here Ray welcome back, let me know if I can be of help.
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4598
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  Doug Rahn on June 30th 2012, 4:48 am

Welcome back Ray cheers , always love that machine.





avatar
Doug Rahn
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 1667
Join date : 2009-08-07
Age : 67
Location : Springfield, GA

View user profile http://www.cardomain.com/ride/228081

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  racinray on June 30th 2012, 9:59 am

Thanks for all the welcome backs.I really enjoyed seeing everyone again.Nothing clears out the head like a little tire smoke and racing fuel.Doug thanks for posting the pics.By the way did you ever finish that car?If you did I sure would enjoy seeing some pics and info on how she ran.I came up to watch David's truck it has been years in the building and tho he had some unexpected problems it is a very impressive machine.I have kept up with my friend Blake over the years and enjoyed hanging out.Had a lot of laughs with Red and the rest of the Shake and Bake gang.Russ Hood and I go back a ways and he is a top notch friend it was good to see you friend you need to paint the car back she will always be Moody Blues.Wes you are a racer's racer you know why you built that truck and never miss a opportunity to burn some rubber bet he put a hundred miles on her.Got to hang out with my good friend Bobby and Derek Anthony and their family hated they were not able to bring the car.Saw Dan and the Tbird man I love that ole car and he is the second best racer I know.Got to see Charlie as he prowled the premises sharing his knowledge.It was good to see you Bruno and hated Lem did not show.I know I missed some guys but my brain is slow this mornin.

racinray

Posts : 22
Join date : 2012-06-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  56Tbird on June 30th 2012, 1:56 pm

Ray it was great seeing you my friend! I'm so glad you got that beast back out! I hope that pep talk I gave you helped Laughing I always loved your car too! Good luck and go kick some ass!! cheers
avatar
56Tbird
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 5255
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 59
Location : Hawesville,Ky.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  t-bird racer on July 9th 2012, 5:53 pm

I'm glad the tire smoke and burning fuel brought back. Nice Car!!! I love the look of it slammed!!!!!!!!!
avatar
t-bird racer

Posts : 142
Join date : 2010-01-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: getting back in the game!545 start up opinions

Post  nuclearcobra on April 1st 2014, 12:38 pm

Bummer it sold in January
avatar
nuclearcobra
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 1365
Join date : 2009-08-16
Location : Delaware Coast

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum