BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help me build my engine!

+12
richter69
466cj
Dave De
69F100
5pointslow
psfracer
bigblok2000ranger
Mark Laczo
bbf-falcon
the Coug
bruno
popskull
16 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Help me build my engine! Empty Help me build my engine!

Post  popskull January 10th 2013, 9:52 pm

Ok, I am new to the big block game (and new to the site, but have been reading a fair amount), but have been around the block in the small block and 4 cylinder world. I have a basic idea of what I would like to build, just want some more seasoned opinions here.

The car it will be going in is a Fox body convertible, the intended purpose will be just to have fun, run a good number, cruise to get ice cream and to cruise nights, and spin the rollers off the dyno at dyno days... I just want a butt load of power. I want the car to run on E85 (which I will test, then get a barrel for use, so it will be consistent). This is also intended as somewhat a budget build (no billet cranks, no aluminum rods, etc, but not a CHEAP build). I intend to keep this N/A for a while (so all clearances will be dealt with accordingly), and I am aiming for 850 to the wheels through a TH400 (figure this is close to 1000 on the crank). So here is the proposed parts list so far:

- A460 block (4.6 bore x 4.5 stroke)
- A460 heads (2.4 valve, possibly?)
- Scat 4340 crank
- Scat 4340 rods
- JE gas port pistons
- 14:1 compression (I need to know if this will work on E85 though?)
- EFI by Megasquirt
- Some sort of cast manifold I will modify myself for injection (haven't looked into them yet)

I guess the basic questions I have are:
Does this look like a powerful build?
Will this compression work on E85?
Any suggestions on other parts I should look into?

I see this thread is dang close to what I want to do, so I will tab it for reference.

Thanks in advance guys!

popskull

Back to top Go down