Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Go down

Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Post  IDT-572 on June 2nd 2013, 4:40 pm

500-528 inch engine out of the box TFS Streets or Super Cobra jets, 230-240 hyd solid flat tappet 108-109 sep .550 lift 3500 lb street vehicle 2000-2500 stall.

Ported Edelbrock Torquer two or Performer RPM?

I'm looking hard at the Torquer two.
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4608
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Post  richter69 on June 2nd 2013, 4:44 pm

t2
avatar
richter69

Posts : 13645
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 47
Location : In the winners circle

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Post  cool40 on June 2nd 2013, 7:20 pm

Rpm
avatar
cool40
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 7169
Join date : 2009-08-31
Age : 47
Location : on the 1/8 mile dyno

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Post  rmcomprandy on June 2nd 2013, 8:00 pm

IDT-572 wrote:500-528 inch engine out of the box TFS Streets or Super Cobra jets, 230-240 hyd solid flat tappet 108-109 sep .550 lift 3500 lb street vehicle 2000-2500 stall.

Ported Edelbrock Torquer two or Performer RPM?

I'm looking hard at the Torquer two.

With that vehicle;
If direct "off idle" part throttle response is not a major priority then the Torquer II would be my choice.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 5173
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Post  IDT-572 on June 2nd 2013, 8:04 pm

rmcomprandy wrote:
IDT-572 wrote:500-528 inch engine out of the box TFS Streets or Super Cobra jets, 230-240 hyd solid flat tappet 108-109 sep .550 lift 3500 lb street vehicle 2000-2500 stall.

Ported Edelbrock Torquer two or Performer RPM?

I'm looking hard at the Torquer two.

With that vehicle;
If direct "off idle" part throttle response is not a major priority then the Torquer II would be my choice.

Thats were I'm at in my thinking, with the bigger inch engine and smaller cross section of the runners air speed should be good a little of idle and with a straight shot to the valve maybe flow will be better to take advantage of the better heads.

Direct off idle will be hard to get with the cam chosen anyway. I want to test this someday.
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4608
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Post  schmitty on June 2nd 2013, 8:35 pm

That cam doesn't sound to far off of an old Crower cam that I ran in a 472 with a DOOE intake. It was a little slow off idle with a stock converter, but came on real strong and pulled hard to about 6k. I should have had a 2500 or so stall converter in it. Add 15% or so cubes to that engine, and better heads(I was using almost bone stock C9's) and it should be quite a runner. This engine was in a 79 F250 Extended cab 4X4 that weighed about 8k.
avatar
schmitty

Posts : 4538
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 48
Location : Holdrege, NE

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Post  Lem Evans on June 2nd 2013, 8:36 pm

Torker II with very little porting.

Lem Evans

Posts : 7157
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Livermore , Ky

View user profile http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Post  dfree383 on June 2nd 2013, 10:48 pm

What's a hyd solid flat tappet? rabbit
avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 14188
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Post  IDT-572 on June 3rd 2013, 8:56 am

dfree383 wrote:What's a hyd solid flat tappet? rabbit

It's midnight at the oasis, put your camel to bed................. Now put music to it Razz
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4608
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on what intake would suit best?

Post  dfree383 on June 3rd 2013, 9:46 am

IDT-572 wrote:
dfree383 wrote:What's a hyd solid flat tappet? rabbit

It's midnight at the oasis, put your camel to bed................. Now put music to it Razz

affraid lol! lol! lol!
avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 14188
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum