Need some opinions on cams

Go down

Need some opinions on cams

Post  GT300TD on June 3rd 2013, 11:20 am


Bought a 466 in March that turned out to need a bunch more work than I thought (rotating assemble is balanced, though). Has KB flattop hyper pistons, .032 in hole. Will have new rings (cast), rod and main bearings and I had the crank turned. Also an Edelbrock Performer RPM intake and HEI distributor. It came with stock D3 heads and a Comp Cams 292H cam (244 int/ex dur @.050, 560 int/ex lift, lobe sep 110*, power band 2500-6500). I bought a set of rebuilt D3 heads off of a forum member at the Columbus super swap. Been told that the stock springs will hold up for a while with this cam but I sure don't want anything to happen to it down the road, after I get it done. I do have a used Crane HMV 272-2 cam (216@.050 int/228@.050 ex dur, 518 int/513 ex lift) power band is 1800-5400, lobe sep 112*. It came out of a 429 and didn't sound all that 'healthy' when the motor was in my '64 Galaxie.
I want to leave the heads alone (will add roller rockers) but would want as much cam as the springs will take. Already have $2500 in the motor which is probably more than I can get out of it. I need some advice, please.
Thanks. Smile


GT300TD
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 629
Join date : 2009-12-11
Age : 70
Location : Lancaster, Ohio

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some opinions on cams

Post  dfree383 on June 3rd 2013, 11:51 am

A decent set of springs and retainers will cost you less than a $150..... Your building the motor ass backwards and if your building it as an investment you need to rethink your whole strategy...... king
avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 14027
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some opinions on cams

Post  IDT-572 on June 3rd 2013, 12:07 pm

For a street engine, you need to have a custom ground to get all the hp you can get with a cam change. They cost very little more.
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4591
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some opinions on cams

Post  rmcomprandy on June 3rd 2013, 12:58 pm

If you are into using whatever you already have;
Choice between the two ... I would use the Crane with 1.8/1 rocker arms and a decent set of valve springs.

A custom grind would be a whole lot better than either.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 5020
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some opinions on cams

Post  GT300TD on June 3rd 2013, 7:24 pm

Bought it off the other forum less intake, carb and dizzy for $1200, thought I'd tear it down and put it back together for some practice and sell it cheap. It was only supposed to have 1000 miles and 6 passes on it (11.89 inthe quarter in a '92 Mustang), built by an engine builder in Kentucky Rolling Eyes. Oh well, another lesson learned scratch
Randy...I'll pm you and we'll discuss it, if Adney hasn't sent the bearings yet tell him to hold off, haha.
Thanks guys Smile




GT300TD
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 629
Join date : 2009-12-11
Age : 70
Location : Lancaster, Ohio

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum