Need some cam experts opinions

Go down

Need some cam experts opinions

Post  bronco911 on November 5th 2013, 8:01 pm

Wondering how the cam I have rates, from mild to wild, in my 593.
Comp cams
Here are the specs, as best as I can decipher them from a carpenters view.
Grind # FF1301/1392 SR110
Valve Adj. intake .020 Ex .026
Gross valve lift intake .807 Ex .795
Duration @ .020 Tappet Lift 318 Ex 320
Valve Timing @.050 Open 29 intake and 72 Exh

Specs are for cam installed @ 110.0 Intake center line
Duration @ .050 intake 278 Exhaust 275
Lobe lift .4670 intake .4600 exhaust
From some of the articles I have read, I almost think this is a little mild?? So, another ask the experts question

If you need more info let me know.
Appreciate the input

Ray
avatar
bronco911

Posts : 103
Join date : 2013-09-17
Age : 47
Location : Grand Ledge, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  rmcomprandy on November 5th 2013, 8:30 pm

bronco911 wrote:Wondering how the cam I have rates, from mild to wild, in my 593.
Comp cams
Here are the specs, as best as I can decipher them from a carpenters view.
Grind # FF1301/1392 SR110
Valve Adj. intake .020 Ex .026
Gross valve lift intake .807 Ex .795
Duration @ .020 Tappet Lift 318 Ex 320
Valve Timing @.050  Open 29 intake and 72 Exh

Specs are for cam installed @ 110.0 Intake center line
Duration @ .050 intake 278 Exhaust 275
Lobe lift .4670 intake .4600 exhaust
From some of the articles I have read, I almost think this is a little mild?? So, another ask the experts question

If you need more info let me know.
Appreciate the input

Ray
You must have a REALLY efficient exhaust or it was meant to be installed at least 8 or so degrees advanced.
Sounds like a "hair drier" supercharger cam from a smaller engine.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 4980
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  bronco911 on November 5th 2013, 8:43 pm

Ok, did you see the "from a carpenters view" Wink In other words, can you dumb it down for me a bit? I am trying to decide what to do cam wise before I take this to the dyno and my buddy said this is what comp spec'd out for this build, but basically last time I ordered a cam it was 2 engines ago smaller (557) and this cams specs ALMOST mirror that one, and I have to refer back to a post a few weeks ago where I was saying this bigger engine is running slower than the last, by feel AND time slips. How much more could I get out of her with a different cam, and what would you recommend?
I know, very long winded but I really want to get this figured out

THANKS!!! Ray
avatar
bronco911

Posts : 103
Join date : 2013-09-17
Age : 47
Location : Grand Ledge, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  IDT-572 on November 5th 2013, 10:08 pm

bronco911 wrote:Wondering how the cam I have rates, from mild to wild, in my 593.
Comp cams
Here are the specs, as best as I can decipher them from a carpenters view.
Grind # FF1301/1392 SR110
Valve Adj. intake .020 Ex .026
Gross valve lift intake .807 Ex .795
Duration @ .020 Tappet Lift 318 Ex 320
Valve Timing @.050  Open 29 intake and 72 Exh

Specs are for cam installed @ 110.0 Intake center line
Duration @ .050 intake 278 Exhaust 275
Lobe lift .4670 intake .4600 exhaust
From some of the articles I have read, I almost think this is a little mild?? So, another ask the experts question

If you need more info let me know.
Appreciate the input

Ray
Need a bunch of more info............. List all of your combo engine and vehicle.
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4581
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  bronco911 on November 5th 2013, 10:55 pm

4200 lb Bronco, 373 gears w/ SCS qc t-case 2/1 ratio; Coan pro glide w/brake and 4000 stall converter
Running 300' in the sand, plus hauling the wife and 6 kids all over the dunes with reliability.

SVO block bored to 4.508, 4.5 crank
A429 SCJ heads ported to the max by Roush back in the day, Jessel system on top, best valves and springs, pistons and rods and such you can buy.
13-1/2:1 CR, biggest Holley I could get, biggest BG fuel pump, Meziere 55gpm h2o pump, external oil cooler, MSD 6al.......
Am I missing anything?

I really appreciate the input guys, the sooner I can come up with a gameplan for this one the better.

Thanks, Ray




avatar
bronco911

Posts : 103
Join date : 2013-09-17
Age : 47
Location : Grand Ledge, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  IDT-572 on November 5th 2013, 11:07 pm

Ray

With that bore and stroke your engine is a 574, and with the heads you have your cam in my opinion is way off. It needs more split the other way (more exhaust than intake) I wont say how much I would put in it because I don't want to start an argument, but 15 degrees wouldn't be too much if the heads are as good as you say.


Your converter needs to be at least a 5000, and if your heads are good close to 6000 rpm.

Your truck is heavy and needs to have the converter well into the torque peak on the leave.

I don't understand why a cam company would spec something like that unless it was a Hemi head or your heads have a killer exhaust port. Roush may have done something spectacular that I am unaware of can be done to that head.
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4581
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  bronco911 on November 5th 2013, 11:22 pm

Oops, 4.580.

I know that when I had header dumps on her and opened them up she fell flat on her face, literally has to have the backpressure of the exhaust to run right. Would that have anything to do with the exh flow?
I have read up quite a bit, and everything I see is pointing to the cam also. I don't know if he was just trying to help me out with reliability by toning her down or what, but I am scratching my head as to wtf happened. Now I need to get her pulled out and start over with a few new ideas and another builder.

Thanks!!

avatar
bronco911

Posts : 103
Join date : 2013-09-17
Age : 47
Location : Grand Ledge, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  IDT-572 on November 5th 2013, 11:28 pm

Intake and exhaust flow numbers would be good to know.   It they flow what I would expect them to flow a cam in the 278/293 on a 113 would be in the ball park. That's just to give you an idea.
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4581
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  bronco911 on November 5th 2013, 11:34 pm

IDT-572 wrote:Intake and exhaust flow numbers would be good to know.   It they flow what I would expect them to flow a cam in the 278/293 on a 113 would be in the ball park. That's just to give you an idea.
I think I am going to take the time to get the heads on a bench this time. Starting now instead of getting around to it about 2 months before she needs to be running will be a big plus this time around. I will keep bugging you guys and giving updates as it goes.

Thanks a lot for the help and ideas!

Ray
avatar
bronco911

Posts : 103
Join date : 2013-09-17
Age : 47
Location : Grand Ledge, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  rmcomprandy on November 5th 2013, 11:42 pm

bronco911 wrote:
Running 300' in the sand, plus hauling the wife and 6 kids all over the dunes with reliability.

Blake,
THIS changes the whole scenario of what is needed.

EDIT: install your cam on a 102 degree intake centerline, (8 degrees advanced), and you will be fine for what you wish to accomplish. Hopefully, you will have enough intake valve to piston clearance.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 4980
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  IDT-572 on November 6th 2013, 10:23 am

rmcomprandy wrote:
bronco911 wrote:
Running 300' in the sand, plus hauling the wife and 6 kids all over the dunes with reliability.

Blake,
THIS changes the whole scenario of what is needed.

EDIT: install your cam on a 102 degree intake centerline, (8 degrees advanced), and you will be fine for what you wish to accomplish. Hopefully, you will have enough intake valve to piston clearance.
I didn't see that.......... I still don't think the performance will be what it could be.
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4581
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  rmcomprandy on November 6th 2013, 11:07 am

IDT-572 wrote:
rmcomprandy wrote:
bronco911 wrote:
Running 300' in the sand, plus hauling the wife and 6 kids all over the dunes with reliability.

Blake,
THIS changes the whole scenario of what is needed.

EDIT: install your cam on a 102 degree intake centerline, (8 degrees advanced), and you will be fine for what you wish to accomplish. Hopefully, you will have enough intake valve to piston clearance.
I didn't see that.......... I still don't think the performance will be what it could be.  
Of course not ... but, with what is expected to be done is not conducive to being the most power available, Smile 

rmcomprandy

Posts : 4980
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  IDT-572 on November 6th 2013, 11:09 am

rmcomprandy wrote:
IDT-572 wrote:
rmcomprandy wrote:
bronco911 wrote:
Running 300' in the sand, plus hauling the wife and 6 kids all over the dunes with reliability.

Blake,
THIS changes the whole scenario of what is needed.

EDIT: install your cam on a 102 degree intake centerline, (8 degrees advanced), and you will be fine for what you wish to accomplish. Hopefully, you will have enough intake valve to piston clearance.
I didn't see that.......... I still don't think the performance will be what it could be.  
Of course not ... but, with what is expected to be done is not conducive to being the most power available, Smile 
Laughing 
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4581
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  bronco911 on November 6th 2013, 11:22 am

What is changing the scenario guys? The kids want to go faster also, they have been raised as speed freaks! (now the wife on the other hand seems to be losing her nerve lately)
I really want to get as much out of this combo as possible

Thanks!
avatar
bronco911

Posts : 103
Join date : 2013-09-17
Age : 47
Location : Grand Ledge, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  LivermoreDave on November 8th 2013, 10:39 am

bronco911 wrote:Wondering how the cam I have rates, from mild to wild, in my 593. Ray
bronco911 wrote:What is changing the scenario guys? The kids want to go faster also, they have been raised as speed freaks! (now the wife on the other hand seems to be losing her nerve lately)
I've read this post and it's replies several times and I can not restrain my self from commenting any longer!

First, I am not a camshaft expert, or an expert of any kind!
Second, you ask for a rating of your camshaft, I give it 3/4 race to full race rating.
Third, your wife's brain may be working better than your's! That may be "changing scenario"!

Now remember before you get pissed, it's only a comment not an assumption!

Dave.

LivermoreDave

Posts : 972
Join date : 2009-09-27
Location : North of the Equator.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  bronco911 on November 10th 2013, 8:35 pm

LivermoreDave wrote:
bronco911 wrote:Wondering how the cam I have rates, from mild to wild, in my 593. Ray
bronco911 wrote:What is changing the scenario guys? The kids want to go faster also, they have been raised as speed freaks! (now the wife on the other hand seems to be losing her nerve lately)
I've read this post and it's replies several times and I can not restrain my self from commenting any longer!

First, I am not a camshaft expert, or an expert of any kind!
Second, you ask for a rating of your camshaft, I give it 3/4 race to full race rating.
Third, your wife's brain may be working better than your's! That may be "changing scenario"!

Now remember before you get pissed, it's only a comment not an assumption!

Dave.
Ah, but it appears it is an assumption. Obviously the humor I was attempting flew a little high. Next time I'll be sure to throw in a LOL. Rolling Eyes 
If Randy and Blake would be so kind to enlighten me as to their "scenario change" concerns I would appreciate it. Are you talking the added weight, or the safety of it as Dave portrays? Others around here have seen me drive and I am sure they can attest to the fact if its not safe to go with the family loaded then it does not go. Full cage and 5 points in all seats aside, I am not stupid and know mine and my Broncos limits.

Thanks....
avatar
bronco911

Posts : 103
Join date : 2013-09-17
Age : 47
Location : Grand Ledge, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  IDT-572 on November 10th 2013, 9:45 pm

If your wanting it to run as well as it could, my answer still stands. Call one of the cam guys on here and they will fix you up. Lem, Randy Malick, ect.
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4581
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  supervel45 on November 25th 2013, 5:27 am

Maybe the part that changed has to do with the valve train lasting for the joy rides, and not full race only use. Sorry could not help commenting either, after the one a few back, too funny LoL.Laughing 

supervel45

Posts : 3067
Join date : 2013-09-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need some cam experts opinions

Post  rmcomprandy on November 25th 2013, 11:27 am

How you wish to use it is the scenario. A full competition tempermental set-up compared to an easily driven, not on the edge and needing to be maintained often, is the difference.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 4980
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum