Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Go down

Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  jc10000rpm on February 10th 2014, 3:04 am

Running a  502 with Mildly ported P51s, Current springs listed Below
would this be a good setup ?? What would you recommend ??



Springs:
part#221447

NexTek Valve Spring, Drag Race, Roller Cam - 1.677 OD triple, max lift .800, 350lb @ 2.000
Super Stock, Pro Mod, Comp Eliminator racing triple valve spring for roller cams up to .800 lift with 2.000 install height. Set of 16.

   1.677 OD triple
   .635 ID
   .800 max lift
   350 lbs @ 2.000 installed height
   895 lbs @ 1.270 open pressure
   Spring rate 746 lbs
   Coil Bind 1.160
   Also available fully polished for maximum fatigue life - SEE Listings

jc10000rpm

Posts : 193
Join date : 2008-12-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  HEMI-HUNTER on February 10th 2014, 10:43 am

nothing wrong with this set up
avatar
HEMI-HUNTER

Posts : 10
Join date : 2009-02-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  c.evans on February 10th 2014, 11:40 am

Jeff,

Tread carefully here.... That's a lot of valve spring that you are proposing for P-51 heads. If you use that spring, please be advised that they will require new bigger spring seat cups, and you will probably have to re-machine your heads in order to handle that bigger o.d. of the cup and spring.

I'd rather see you use the PAC #1224 or 1324 which is a 2.000" installed height double spring. The neat thing about it is that it coil binds at 1.070"-1.100" instead of the usual 1.150". That allows for a little more lift. 275 lbs @ 2.000" and 810 lbs @ 1.150". Also it is a smaller diameter and you won't have to buy the bigger cups and re-machine.

Charlie




c.evans
BBF VENDOR SPONSOR
BBF VENDOR SPONSOR

Posts : 2214
Join date : 2008-12-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  Lem Evans on February 10th 2014, 11:44 am

agreed...I do not think that application has to have a triple. The 1224 pac and the manley 'blue stripe' do a good job even on the A460's heavier valves.

Lem Evans

Posts : 7147
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Livermore , Ky

View user profile http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  jc10000rpm on February 10th 2014, 7:34 pm

thanks for the replies, i thought they might be a bit much and was thinking of checking pressures with the inner spring left out,
and see what kind of numbers i came up with. But you both are going in the right direction, you know how it goes, i already had the
triples and hoping  Rolling Eyes 

guess i need to see if anybody wants to make a trade  Very Happy 

jc10000rpm

Posts : 193
Join date : 2008-12-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  Lem Evans on February 10th 2014, 7:49 pm


Check'em with the small inners out....may be good to go.

Lem Evans

Posts : 7147
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Livermore , Ky

View user profile http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  jc10000rpm on February 10th 2014, 9:57 pm

will do, thanks

jc10000rpm

Posts : 193
Join date : 2008-12-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  jc10000rpm on February 10th 2014, 10:46 pm

if iv done the math right, i was figuring about 7400max rpm, does that look right to you guys ?

figuring on short shifting to sav some wear and tear. Probably around 6600-6800, do you think the PACs could go the whole 7400 if i wanted ?

jc10000rpm

Posts : 193
Join date : 2008-12-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  c.evans on February 10th 2014, 11:24 pm

Jeff

Yes they could. Like what Lem said, that's the spring that comes on the TFS A-460 heads, and it's valves are heavier than yours, so I feel pretty confident that they can go 7400 rpm with no problem.

Charlie


c.evans
BBF VENDOR SPONSOR
BBF VENDOR SPONSOR

Posts : 2214
Join date : 2008-12-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  TravisRice on February 11th 2014, 6:51 pm

If your opting for the triples and are getting rid of the inner spring, I think I would check them both at the seat and at full lift for pressures just to be safe.

TravisRice
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 1135
Join date : 2009-02-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  jc10000rpm on February 12th 2014, 7:30 pm

thats the plan, now i just need the time to get back to it  Smile Smile

jc10000rpm

Posts : 193
Join date : 2008-12-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  c.evans on February 12th 2014, 8:04 pm

jc10000rpm wrote:thats the plan, now i just need the time to get back to it  Smile Smile

Pay attention to what I said about the size of the 1.670" springs, the matching seat cup and re-machining the head in order to take that larger cup. You've got potential problems there you are going to have to deal with. Measure everything.

Charlie

c.evans
BBF VENDOR SPONSOR
BBF VENDOR SPONSOR

Posts : 2214
Join date : 2008-12-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Valve Spring Opinion Wanted

Post  rmcomprandy on February 12th 2014, 8:18 pm

When using a double instead of a triple you can usually use an inner spring seat locator and don't need to re-machine the diameter of the spring pocket any larger. With a triple, locating off the spring O.D. is the only option.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 5142
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum