Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Go down

Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  fordmanmatt on February 16th 2014, 8:21 pm

I have just learned about this and I just want to here form a few members here because I value the opinions of a lot of members here, I have heard that Glyptal and I have also head of using Por-15 so what's up with this and is it worth it ?????

Also has anybody had a block damaged from doing this?????
avatar
fordmanmatt

Posts : 33
Join date : 2013-11-09
Age : 50
Location : Wilmingto NC 28410

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  bbf-falcon on February 16th 2014, 11:37 pm

Some doit ,but most don't.all I will say IS,keep paint away from inside of engine. Smile 

bbf-falcon

Posts : 8992
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Jackson, Ohio

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  bbfstanger on February 16th 2014, 11:39 pm

potential paint chips scares me. i never do it.

bbfstanger

Posts : 221
Join date : 2013-08-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  bosshoss on February 17th 2014, 12:32 am

Agreed. Any possible gains made by allowing oil to drain back to the pan faster are far out weighed by the damage done if one of those paint chips jams the relief valve in the oil pump
avatar
bosshoss
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 470
Join date : 2009-08-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  fordmanmatt on February 17th 2014, 11:33 am

I agree, like I said on the other site, thought I would ask just did not want to have one of those moments that I should have done it LOL
avatar
fordmanmatt

Posts : 33
Join date : 2013-11-09
Age : 50
Location : Wilmingto NC 28410

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  rmcomprandy on February 17th 2014, 12:46 pm

There is NOTHING wrong with it if the preparation is good and it is done right; unless an alcohol based fuel is used.

I don't know of any paint or epoxy which will stand-up to a steady dose of alcohol residuals.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 5091
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  TravisRice on February 17th 2014, 8:06 pm

It used to be common practice when I bought my first 514 shortblock from Engine Systems back about 1991-92. Don't see it as often as you used to but I still have that block and it has held up well. One thing I do like is if it was prepped properly from the get go, it will actually be sealed from the oil and you can simply wash it down with hot soapy water during a freshen up or rebuild. Like Randy said about the alcohol based products, brake clean should not be used either, it will make the glyptol sticky for a period of time and it can be smeared around damaging it's integrity.

TravisRice
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 1129
Join date : 2009-02-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  Lem Evans on February 17th 2014, 11:09 pm

600 hp or 1,200 hp.....it's just not needed.

Lem Evans

Posts : 7099
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Livermore , Ky

View user profile http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  Wheelie58 on February 18th 2014, 12:13 am

I just remembered my first running FE that I built when I was 15 years old. It was a 352 loaded with cast-away parts from older racers. I painted the valley and behind the timing cover, because I saw it in a magazine. I thought I was hot stuff, until the Permatex or Indian Head gasket sealer made the paint peel off, due to a chemical reaction. I am sure the prep was a little shaky too, with my limited experience back then.
Just had to share that blast from the past.
Keith
avatar
Wheelie58

Posts : 1840
Join date : 2009-08-08
Location : Alpharetta, GA

View user profile http://www.keithfulpmotorsports.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  bbf-falcon on February 18th 2014, 12:51 am

Gylptol originated to be used on the windings of electric "Motors"

bbf-falcon

Posts : 8992
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Jackson, Ohio

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  David Cole on February 18th 2014, 3:50 am

I guess I'm the odd man out.  My lifter valley is painted.  No ill effects after 3 years.  I didn't know that my engine builder had done it until I pulled the intake for a lifter refresh about a year ago.  No flaking or lifting that I can see even with methanol for fuel.  Put it back together as is and no problems to date.  Just to note though, this was a brand new A460 block that hadn't been oil soaked for years before being painted.

avatar
David Cole
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 851
Join date : 2009-08-06
Location : Jasper, Al

View user profile http://my.att.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=66449&

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  TravisRice on February 18th 2014, 8:32 pm

Lem Evans wrote:600 hp or 1,200 hp.....it's just not needed.

Agree with you that its not NEEDED , but someone must have thought it did something because I have seen more than mine and David Coles done.  Wink 

TravisRice
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 1129
Join date : 2009-02-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  Lem Evans on February 18th 2014, 10:02 pm

TravisRice wrote:
Lem Evans wrote:600 hp or 1,200 hp.....it's just not needed.

Agree with you that its not NEEDED , but someone must have thought it did something because I have seen more than mine and David Coles done.  Wink 
 
Well, I did say "it's not needed" which is my opinion. If "someone" thought it did something I'm cool with that.
 
I'm not sure where I said not to do it but, seems that's what was inferred.
 
I am still of the opinion that painting the 'valley' is not a deal breaker or deal maker.

Lem Evans

Posts : 7099
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Livermore , Ky

View user profile http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on painting lifter valleys

Post  powerstrokeace on February 18th 2014, 11:59 pm

it sure looks purdy!!! What a Face 

Ace
avatar
powerstrokeace

Posts : 1492
Join date : 2009-09-07
Location : colorado

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum