Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Go down

Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  tfsbbf466 on April 1st 2014, 11:37 pm

I am looking to do an upgrade for my truck and I'm not sure which will net me the best gain for my combo. It's a 514 10.5:1 with TFS streets, a custom solid ft, victor, 850dp and 1 7/8 headers. I want to do 2" headers with 3.5" collectors but if I won't see much gain I'll hold off and work on getting a 4500 carb and modifying the intake. Truck has been a best of 9.98 at 130 on a 200 shot. I'd like to be in the .70s -.80s. I will go a bit bigger on the nitrous but I have a cast crank so not going to big.

tfsbbf466

Posts : 165
Join date : 2012-03-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  maverick on April 2nd 2014, 8:16 am

If it was mine, it would definitely get a bigger carb regardless. With the spray, bigger headers too.
avatar
maverick
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 3052
Join date : 2009-08-06
Age : 66

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  windsor on April 2nd 2014, 8:31 am

Indeed both. Although I'd say the carb at the moment will make the bigger difference and is, of course, easier to change and try.
avatar
windsor

Posts : 1116
Join date : 2009-08-09
Location : St. Pete/Northern Va.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  dfree383 on April 2nd 2014, 9:39 am

Does it have an exhaust system on it?
avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 14124
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  bluef100fe on April 2nd 2014, 10:23 am

It's needs both but I wouldn't mess around with a 2 inch header... Build yourself some 2-1/4 primary tube headers probably 4 inch collectors and at least a 3.5 inch exhaust system if your not running open headers....your engines pump gas compression would lead me to believe it needs more help getting the air out.... Especially with the nitrous... Then I would look into a dominator carb but they can be tuff to get tuned for street driving...  Have fun!
avatar
bluef100fe

Posts : 378
Join date : 2009-09-09
Age : 34
Location : Pulaski, Wisconsin

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  rmcomprandy on April 2nd 2014, 11:30 am

tfsbbf466 wrote:I am looking to do an upgrade for my truck and I'm not sure which will net me the best gain for my combo. It's a 514 10.5:1 with TFS streets, a custom solid ft, victor, 850dp and 1 7/8 headers. I want to do 2" headers with 3.5" collectors but if I won't see much gain I'll hold off and work on getting a 4500 carb and modifying the intake. Truck has been a best of 9.98 at 130 on a 200 shot. I'd like to be in the .70s -.80s. I will go a bit bigger on the nitrous but I have a cast crank so not going to big.

This appears to be a race truck so, the headers for sure; especially when you are using any nitrous.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 5091
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  tfsbbf466 on April 2nd 2014, 2:33 pm

This truck is a stock suspension street truck that I drive everywhere. I don't use or own a trailer. It has 1 7/8 headers with 3" collectors to a full 3" exhaust, x pipe to magnaflows. The only headers I can get off the shelf are from Mad Dog and are 2" primary with 3.5" collectors. I will do both eventually but the funds only cover one or the other at this point. It has been 11.25 117 on motor with a tight nitrous converter but I'm more focused on the spray at this point. I'd like to see 9.70s this season.

tfsbbf466

Posts : 165
Join date : 2012-03-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  bluef100fe on April 2nd 2014, 3:17 pm

I've heard of people talking about maddog before but I've never seen any of their headers.. Wonder if they would consider making some bigger tubes for our trucks? I had to build my own 2 inch set for my truck... The next engine I build for mine will most likely run better with a bigger yet primary tube probably 2-1/4... My exhaust system mimickes yours and I only have a 390 ish cube engine. 2 inch primary 3.5 collector 3.0 x-pipe and hooker maxflows in front of the rear axle and dynomax race bullets behind the rear axle... Exhaust is mandrel bent 3 inch... I added cut outs after the x-pipe if I want to make more noise lol
avatar
bluef100fe

Posts : 378
Join date : 2009-09-09
Age : 34
Location : Pulaski, Wisconsin

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  dirt_worker on April 2nd 2014, 3:19 pm

Lol.....Id start spending my money on a cage! But since that's not the question...do the carb first.
avatar
dirt_worker

Posts : 535
Join date : 2009-04-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  bigjohn2007 on April 2nd 2014, 3:25 pm

dirt_worker wrote:Lol.....Id start spending my money on a cage! But since that's not the question...do the carb first.
x2
avatar
bigjohn2007
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 790
Join date : 2009-08-19
Age : 39
Location : Cerro Gordo n.c

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  tfsbbf466 on April 2nd 2014, 4:27 pm

dirt_worker wrote:Lol.....Id start spending my money on a cage! But since that's not the question...do the carb first.
Haha yeah that's somewhere on the list. I wanted to do that over the winter but my daily driver got the better of my fun money.

tfsbbf466

Posts : 165
Join date : 2012-03-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  bluef100fe on April 2nd 2014, 5:08 pm

I still got those brake rotors if you still want them
avatar
bluef100fe

Posts : 378
Join date : 2009-09-09
Age : 34
Location : Pulaski, Wisconsin

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  Rich Osmond on April 2nd 2014, 6:38 pm

Hard to argue with a guy whose truck pulls the front wheels like that! lol

X2 = Good advice all around.

Rich Osmond

Posts : 216
Join date : 2013-02-03
Location : League City, Texas

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  460bronco on April 2nd 2014, 10:25 pm

I have the 2" primary maddog fenderwell exit headers on my 78 model bronco.  I have no issues w/ the quality on the headers.....however, the header flange on mine is not one piece = each pipe is separate where they bolt to the head.  I've had loads of trouble getting these things to seal up and they are a major pain in the a** to put on.  It literally takes about 3 hours to get these things on and I've done it about 10 times now!!!!  I have 3 special 3/8 wrenches that I've made to get the bolts tightened up....but then again, maybe all headers are tough to get on like this
avatar
460bronco

Posts : 323
Join date : 2010-04-07
Age : 32
Location : Meridian, Ms

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bigger carb or bigger headers opinions needed

Post  tfsbbf466 on April 3rd 2014, 12:30 am

I appreciate the feedback on Mad dog but the pics of the headers I have on 2wd trucks ade 1 piece flanges so that shouldn't be an issue.

p



Cody, I sent you a pm on facebook

tfsbbf466

Posts : 165
Join date : 2012-03-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum