Engine combo comparison opinions

Go down

Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  whitefield on December 2nd 2014, 11:27 pm

1st 466 DOVE-C heads professional port and valve job by a Ford engine builder( no flow numbers the flow sheet burned up in shop fire) Crying or Very sad 2.19 intake 1.76 exhaust valve size.

vic intake 1050 carb
2'' primary long tube headers 4'' collector
14.1:1 compression
hyd. flat tappet cam with matching lifters and springs
1.73 lunati roller rockers
cam specs
intake .618 exhaust .618
duration @.050 268 intake 268 exhaust
lsa 110 cam installed 4 degrees advanced
6500 max rpm

2nd 466 box stock 460 #61669 Edlebrock heads
2 '' primary long tube headers into 4'' collector
12.1:1 compression
solid roller cam with matching lifters and springs
1050 carb with vic intake
cam specs
intake .728 exhaust .710
duration @ .050 258 intake 270 exhaust
lsa 112 2 degrees advance
7000 max rpm

In your opinion will these two engines be with in 50 hp of one another ? if so which one will make the higher hp number ?
thanks for any and all opinions
avatar
whitefield

Posts : 2193
Join date : 2009-08-23
Age : 50

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  the Coug on December 3rd 2014, 7:13 am

nice jab
avatar
the Coug

Posts : 3055
Join date : 2008-12-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  whitefield on December 3rd 2014, 7:21 am

the Coug wrote:nice jab

No Jab ! Been wanting to ask this question for sometime now !
avatar
whitefield

Posts : 2193
Join date : 2009-08-23
Age : 50

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  85bigblockfox on December 3rd 2014, 9:42 am

The iron headed build is almost identical to the motor in my car. I dont think the et matches the dyno numbers. But it has been a 10.91 @ 123 at 3385lbs. On the dyno it made 442rwhp/422ftlbs through the c6.
avatar
85bigblockfox

Posts : 240
Join date : 2013-01-02
Location : Land of big gals and big ( . )( . )

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  IDT-572 on December 3rd 2014, 11:18 am

Mike that second engine, is almost a perfect match to a guy in Tullahoma you know the guy, his deal ran a 6.20 right off the trailer @ 3000 lb.

The top deal will run about a 6.60-6.80 at that weight. If the heads flow in the 330-340 range.
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4581
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  IDT-572 on December 3rd 2014, 11:20 am

I would guess almost 100 hp difference................
avatar
IDT-572
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 4581
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 57
Location : Shelbyville Tn.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  rmcomprandy on December 3rd 2014, 12:54 pm

whitefield wrote:1st 466 DOVE-C heads professional port and valve job by a Ford engine builder( no flow numbers the flow sheet burned up in shop fire) Crying or Very sad   2.19 intake 1.76 exhaust  valve size.

vic intake 1050 carb
2'' primary long tube headers 4'' collector
14.1:1 compression
hyd. flat tappet cam with matching lifters and springs
1.73 lunati roller rockers
cam specs
intake .618 exhaust .618
duration @.050 268 intake 268 exhaust
lsa 110 cam installed 4 degrees advanced
6500 max rpm

2nd 466 box stock 460 #61669 Edlebrock heads
2 '' primary long tube headers into 4'' collector
12.1:1 compression
solid roller cam with matching lifters and springs
1050 carb with vic intake
cam specs
intake .728 exhaust .710
duration @ .050 258 intake 270 exhaust
lsa 112 2 degrees advance
7000 max rpm

In your opinion will these two engines be with in 50 hp of one another ?  if so which one will make the higher hp number ?
thanks for any and all opinions

Completely different applications ... not even near the same realm.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 4985
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  bbf-falcon on December 3rd 2014, 3:32 pm

Yea,not even a close match. Shocked

bbf-falcon

Posts : 8992
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Jackson, Ohio

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  whitefield on December 3rd 2014, 7:25 pm

I have to ask would a solid roller cam help get the 1st 466 closer to the 2nd 466?

I also know the first 466 isn't very street friendly with the compression it has.
Thanks


Last edited by whitefield on December 3rd 2014, 7:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
avatar
whitefield

Posts : 2193
Join date : 2009-08-23
Age : 50

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  whitefield on December 3rd 2014, 7:26 pm

IDT-572 wrote:Mike that second engine, is almost a perfect match to a guy in Tullahoma  you know the guy, his deal ran a 6.20 right off the trailer @ 3000 lb.

The top deal will run about a 6.60-6.80 at that weight. If the heads flow in the 330-340 range.

Yeah I had forgotten about him running that set up ! Surprised thanks


Last edited by whitefield on December 3rd 2014, 7:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
avatar
whitefield

Posts : 2193
Join date : 2009-08-23
Age : 50

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  whitefield on December 3rd 2014, 7:30 pm

85bigblockfox wrote:The iron headed build is almost identical to the motor in my car. I dont think the et matches the dyno numbers. But it has been a 10.91 @ 123 at 3385lbs. On the dyno it made 442rwhp/422ftlbs through the c6.


Thanks I was trying to get an Idea on how I should build my next engine. I want to get power and performance with street ability and on a budget.
avatar
whitefield

Posts : 2193
Join date : 2009-08-23
Age : 50

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  Mike R on December 3rd 2014, 7:55 pm

whitefield wrote:
85bigblockfox wrote:The iron headed build is almost identical to the motor in my car. I dont think the et matches the dyno numbers. But it has been a 10.91 @ 123 at 3385lbs. On the dyno it made 442rwhp/422ftlbs through the c6.


Thanks I was trying to get an Idea on how I should  build my next engine. I want  to get power and performance with street ability and on a budget.

You're wasting your time with a 460. From everything I've been reading and been told lately you can make like 4000 hp on 87 pump gas with an LS with some simple, bolt on mods lol! lol! lol!

Mike R

Posts : 1269
Join date : 2009-08-05
Age : 57
Location : St Paul Mn

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  whitefield on December 3rd 2014, 8:35 pm

Yeah that's all you hear about ! Rolling Eyes

I will stick with my 351w and 460's !
avatar
whitefield

Posts : 2193
Join date : 2009-08-23
Age : 50

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  85bigblockfox on December 4th 2014, 9:34 am

whitefield wrote:
85bigblockfox wrote:The iron headed build is almost identical to the motor in my car. I dont think the et matches the dyno numbers. But it has been a 10.91 @ 123 at 3385lbs. On the dyno it made 442rwhp/422ftlbs through the c6.


Thanks I was trying to get an Idea on how I should  build my next engine. I want  to get power and performance with street ability and on a budget.

I didnt catch the flat tappet cam. Mine has a solid roller in it I cant remember the duration but the lift is .631.
avatar
85bigblockfox

Posts : 240
Join date : 2013-01-02
Location : Land of big gals and big ( . )( . )

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Engine combo comparison opinions

Post  whitefield on December 4th 2014, 9:01 pm

85bigblockfox wrote:
whitefield wrote:
85bigblockfox wrote:The iron headed build is almost identical to the motor in my car. I dont think the et matches the dyno numbers. But it has been a 10.91 @ 123 at 3385lbs. On the dyno it made 442rwhp/422ftlbs through the c6.


Thanks I was trying to get an Idea on how I should  build my next engine. I want  to get power and performance with street ability and on a budget.

I didnt catch the flat tappet cam. Mine has a solid roller in it I cant remember the duration but the lift is .631.

Yeah I was hopping to run a custom solid roller cam and pick up some power ! But was also hopping that the two engine combos would be in the ball park too ! scratch study
avatar
whitefield

Posts : 2193
Join date : 2009-08-23
Age : 50

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum