V-10 Triton opinions

Go down

V-10 Triton opinions

Post  bigblockfox468 on January 15th 2016, 3:13 pm

Looking for a used F250 since I picked up a 26' enclosed. Keep in mind I don't race every weekend, lucky if it 5 times per year. I know the 7.3 diesel is the way to go but it's out of my budget and I'm gun shy on the 6.0's . I also know the V-10 has issues of blowing out spark plugs. But I've come across a really clean F-250 with a V-10. I've checked some forums and such and seems like there's positive thoughts on them.
avatar
bigblockfox468
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 1432
Join date : 2009-02-09
Age : 95
Location : Dryden, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  dfree383 on January 15th 2016, 3:49 pm

They run fine Imo, I wouldn't be afraid of a newer 6.2 either, my 2012 gets it done too.

I'd get a much newer gas powered one before I'd spend what the old diesel stuff is going for.
avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 14189
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  514F-1 on January 15th 2016, 5:20 pm

dfree383 wrote:They run fine Imo, I wouldn't be afraid of a newer 6.2 either, my 2012 gets it done too.

I'd get a much newer gas powered one before I'd spend what the old diesel stuff is going for.

I agree 100% the 6.2 is a great motor. Gas milage is much better than the V10 also. Agree also on the diesel deal...90% of the guys that have a diesel ( at least that I know) don't really need it....
avatar
514F-1

Posts : 242
Join date : 2013-08-06
Age : 30
Location : Plant City FL

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  Tommyj466 on January 15th 2016, 5:38 pm

I bought a 2000 excursion with the 6.8 V10 a couple years ago. I haul a 24' trailer, race car ATV etc. I had the same debate about gas and diesel and I am happy with my choice. I went across some scales loaded up at like 18,000 pounds. It ain't the fastest rig going down the highway, but I tow with the cruise at 65-70 and the overdrive off pretty comfortably. I have not had issues with plugs even though this is an early one. I would make sure to check exhaust studs as I had to replace broken studs on both banks. I knew this going in, and did the repair myself. The Ford Truck Enthusiast forum is an excellent resource on these trucks and engines.

TJ
avatar
Tommyj466

Posts : 322
Join date : 2009-01-06
Location : Versailles Ky

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  bigblockfox468 on January 15th 2016, 7:05 pm

Tommyj466 wrote:I bought a 2000 excursion with the 6.8 V10 a couple years ago. I haul a 24' trailer, race car ATV etc. I had the same debate about gas and diesel and I am happy with my choice. I went across some scales loaded up at like 18,000 pounds. It ain't the fastest rig going down the highway, but I tow with the cruise at 65-70 and the overdrive off pretty comfortably. I have not had issues with plugs even though this is an early one. I would make sure to check exhaust studs as I had to replace broken studs on both banks. I knew this going in, and did the repair myself. The Ford Truck Enthusiast forum is an excellent resource on these trucks and engines.

TJ

So what is your real world experience on the fuel mileage, loaded up & towing and not loaded up & towing? Do you use it much as a DD?
avatar
bigblockfox468
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 1432
Join date : 2009-02-09
Age : 95
Location : Dryden, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  Tommyj466 on January 15th 2016, 7:42 pm

I get about 8 or 9 mpg towing. I don't daily drive it, but I did take it on a trip to Florida and got about 13 avg for the trip. I don't know about the F250, but its got a BIG 44 gallon fuel tank, so fuel consumption is a consideration if you use it much more than just towing.

TJ
avatar
Tommyj466

Posts : 322
Join date : 2009-01-06
Location : Versailles Ky

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  rmcomprandy on January 15th 2016, 10:02 pm

Find a truck with a "Raptor" engine.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 5180
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  83-88T-Bird Guy on January 15th 2016, 11:13 pm

dfree383 wrote:They run fine Imo, I wouldn't be afraid of a newer 6.2 either, my 2012 gets it done too.

I'd get a much newer gas powered one before I'd spend what the old diesel stuff is going for.

I agree on both engines.

I have a 2004 cc dually with the V-10 and it has plenty of power pulling my enclosed with a slide in camper in the bed.

Also have a 2011 cc f250 with the 6.2 and it has almost the same amount of power as the V10.

The V10 spark plug issue was corrected sometime during the 2003 model year I believe.
avatar
83-88T-Bird Guy

Posts : 971
Join date : 2008-12-03
Age : 104
Location : Bardstown, KY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  FalconEh on January 15th 2016, 11:18 pm

X4 on the 6.2L I do not regret buying mine!
avatar
FalconEh

Posts : 1430
Join date : 2014-08-21
Location : on the blacktop or in the mountains ????

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  83-88T-Bird Guy on January 15th 2016, 11:24 pm

FalconEh wrote:X4 on the 6.2L I do not regret buying mine!

I agree.
Before I bought my 6.2 I thought that if I got 15 mpg hywy empty I would be happy with that.

It actually gets over 17 hywy empty and has turned out to be a great truck.
It has 107 k miles and I love the way it rides.
avatar
83-88T-Bird Guy

Posts : 971
Join date : 2008-12-03
Age : 104
Location : Bardstown, KY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  FalconEh on January 15th 2016, 11:41 pm

bigblockfox468 wrote:
Tommyj466 wrote:I bought a 2000 excursion with the 6.8 V10 a couple years ago. I haul a 24' trailer, race car ATV etc. I had the same debate about gas and diesel and I am happy with my choice. I went across some scales loaded up at like 18,000 pounds. It ain't the fastest rig going down the highway, but I tow with the cruise at 65-70 and the overdrive off pretty comfortably. I have not had issues with plugs even though this is an early one. I would make sure to check exhaust studs as I had to replace broken studs on both banks. I knew this going in, and did the repair myself. The Ford Truck Enthusiast forum is an excellent resource on these trucks and engines.

TJ

So what is your real world experience on the fuel mileage, loaded up & towing and not loaded up & towing? Do you use it much as a DD?

83-88T-Bird Guy wrote:
FalconEh wrote:X4 on the 6.2L I do not regret buying mine!

I agree.
Before I bought my 6.2 I  thought that if I got 15 mpg hywy empty I would be happy with that.

It actually gets over 17 hywy empty and has turned out to be a great truck.
It has 107 k miles and I love the way it rides.

I do not worry much about gas mileage, that has a lot to do with my right foot, I drive it loaded,unloaded DD, in the lake dropping the boat, hunting mud and all, and towing car trailer, and the 11000+lb 30' 5th wheel trailer up and down mountains, and the gas mileage does not get much worse when hauling , things like the 6-speed auto help (+manual shift), sway control etc. it may not make as much TQ/HP but it is definitely not lacking in the real world test.
avatar
FalconEh

Posts : 1430
Join date : 2014-08-21
Location : on the blacktop or in the mountains ????

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  Doug Rahn on January 16th 2016, 7:48 am

The first year I took my car to the Bash I used a friends Excursion with the V10 and I think we averaged 11.5mpg @ 75mph. Not as heavy a load as some of you, trailer about 1500 and car 3250, but it did pull good. I think the big issue about the plugs is if they were left in to long and a lot of carbon built up on the threads extending in the combustion chamber it would pull the threads when you changed them. I think they also had a short thread engagement in the earlier models.
avatar
Doug Rahn
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 1671
Join date : 2009-08-07
Age : 67
Location : Springfield, GA

View user profile http://www.cardomain.com/ride/228081

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  torino501 on January 16th 2016, 10:13 am

wont have to worry about broken ex studs or spark plugs with the 6.2L

torino501

Posts : 381
Join date : 2013-05-08
Location : THE GREAT STATE OF TEXAS!!!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  BigRigTech on January 16th 2016, 3:41 pm

My buddy has a few V10's in his truck fleet...They are his engine of choice. He tows and plows with them with no issues. Wink
avatar
BigRigTech

Posts : 763
Join date : 2013-06-17
Location : Hatchet Lake, Nova Scotia, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  738drvr on January 16th 2016, 10:17 pm

I had a 2003/04 F-250 Supercab lifted with 35" tires. It avg. 12-13MPG mixed driving. Towing an 18' open trailer with a 3200# car it got 9-10 and pulled it good. Mine had the 3.73 gears so it wasn't that great until you put your foot in it but when you did, she would move. No where near the pwr/trq of my powerstrokes but I loved how quiet it ran and stone cold reliable. I've always wanted a 6.2L with 4.30 gears. I bet that would be a good combo and a much better sound. Never did like the way my V10 sounded. Almost like an inline motor. Smooth but no hot rod sound and I had a Magnaflow exhaust. Great truck. Only problem was I owned it back when gas was 4/gallon. Had to let it go. It was 20.00-30.00 every time I got in it. Most guys that buy diesels never need them. I've owned 3.

I'll be shopping soon.
avatar
738drvr

Posts : 505
Join date : 2010-02-15
Age : 53
Location : Middle Tennessee

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  dr's wife racing on January 16th 2016, 11:22 pm

I have a 99 350 4x4 super crew. I pulled a 20 foot trailer with it today. It turned 222000 thou. Today. Only prob. It has ever had engine wise is coil packs. It has always been worked like a mule pulling heavy loads most all of its life. Its gas mileage is not great but I don't think it is any worse than most big trucks. I have noting bad to say about mine.
avatar
dr's wife racing
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 1651
Join date : 2009-08-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  DanE on January 16th 2016, 11:57 pm

I have had 2 Excursions with the V10. A 2001 and a 2005. Never had a problem with either. As a DD, they averaged about 11.8 MPG. On the freeway at 75 MPH they would get about 16MPG. There is a procedure when changing spark plugs and it needs to be followed. I have a Raptor 6.2 now and I like it better, more power and about the same MPG.

DanE

Posts : 84
Join date : 2010-04-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  Doug Rahn on January 17th 2016, 8:32 am

In case anyone who has a V10 with spark plug problems Time-Sert has a repair kit for that. You have three options, two are what they call over the fender repairs and can be done without engine disassembly and the third is head removal. http://www.timesert.com/html/ford_sparkplug_faq.html
avatar
Doug Rahn
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 1671
Join date : 2009-08-07
Age : 67
Location : Springfield, GA

View user profile http://www.cardomain.com/ride/228081

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  D. Sea on January 19th 2016, 10:09 am

Mike,

I did a lot of research when I was shopping for a Newer truck last year.  From what I found, the 2008-2010 V10 Super Duty is considered the "Best" choice.  Based on power and reliability compared to the older models.

I was looking for a Dually V10 extended or 4 door truck.  I found that they were nearly as expensive as the newer 6.2L trucks from 2011 and 2012.  I found a good deal on the 2012 6.2L Extended cab Dually that I have now.  Purchased it February of 2015.  

What's your budget numbers?  I had a specific number and stuck with it.  It took me a while to find the right truck but I DID in fact find exactly what I wanted and it's actually a little nicer than what I was shopping for.  I wanted an XLT but found this Lariat...   Awesome truck!

Good luck with your search and when you do find the truck you want, crawl up underneath and look for any signs of rust,rot,corrosion.
avatar
D. Sea

Posts : 2767
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 49
Location : Kentucky

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: V-10 Triton opinions

Post  85bigblockfox on January 19th 2016, 2:42 pm

After pulling with 460s for 15 years last feb I found a 95 cummins 5 speed truck. 460 mpg was terrible but compairable to a v10 I guess. For pulling power no question diesel is where its at. I pull a 24ft enclosed to the track and the 460 got 7-8mpg. My cummins gets about 15 pulling the enclosed. I can get close to 20 pulling my 16ft car hauler with a foxbody on it.
avatar
85bigblockfox

Posts : 241
Join date : 2013-01-02
Location : Land of big gals and big ( . )( . )

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum