Dommy vs 850 opinions

Page 2 of 2 Previous  1, 2

Go down

Re: Dommy vs 850 opinions

Post  BBFTorino on January 30th 2016, 10:45 pm

tfsbbf466 wrote:Current combo is the original c6 rebuilt and the converter cut open and cleaned out, the Pro Systems 4500, and the Induction solutions 4500 real street kit. It has a 90 nitrous jet now. It's around 200-250 depending on who you ask. The best pass ever was with an 82 nitrous jet and the 850 carb/ big shot plate. If it would have picked up going to the Chevy Trans I was going to keep it but it hurt me inside and if it wasnt helping it had no business being bolted under my truck lol.
So I am curious to see what your results will be when you get back to the track with the original setup.
There are several items floating in my head as to what it may be, but you know there can be many many variables.
I wonder if the convertor was going away.
Did you change one part at a time, then test, or did you swap the trans and carb at the same time??

BBFTorino

Posts : 667
Join date : 2015-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Dommy vs 850 opinions

Post  Dave De on January 31st 2016, 12:55 pm

The assumption to most of us is that the Dominator is actually a 1050. Is it a 1050?

Regardless of that the headers are small with 1 7/8 primaries then only 3" exhaust with mufflers are probably chambered type. I'm going to predict that the dominator if its a 1050 will be best over the 850 if you take the exhaust off. The headers are bad enough for flow then to shove it thru 3" pipes and mufflers takes the induction improvements away for a greater mismatch.

Your package has an interest to me because I'm going to a 1050 Dom on a 560 cube motor with a short manifold on my Torino and use 1 7/8 primaries into 3.5" collectors but with 3.5" pipes including cut outs. I would guess that the small primaries are going to hold it back 5/100ths on my set-up.  

Not knowing your mufflers but there are many 3" mufflers that have the same bodies as their 2.5" muffler offering. Certainly that would be way to small.
avatar
Dave De

Posts : 556
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Utica, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Dommy vs 850 opinions

Post  tfsbbf466 on January 31st 2016, 2:10 pm

They are 1 7/8 Hooker super comps that I had to modify for them to line up with the cj exhaust port on the TFS heads. I'm running 3" collectors to a 3" X pipe and 3" Magnaflow oval straight through (not chambered) mufflers with dumps after.

Carb says 1090cfm on the spec sheet.

After it had gone a string of 10.0s and 1 9.9 pass the truck started slowing down bad. That ended up being an issue with the slip yoke in the trans twisting and not sliding on the output shaft as it should which took out all of the internals in the trans as well as knocking the thrust bearing out of the motor.

I first swapped the th400 only and it ran 10.13 129 not using the trans brake

Then I installed the 4500 and IS kit as well as hooking up the Trans brake and the best I mustered was a 10.21 128. This set up was in the truck from October 2014 to November 2015 and that's the best pass I got. Bunch of 10.2 to 10.3 passes and the mph always seemed low. I believe the th400 converter was a tad loose on spray but was only .05 faster on motor over the original 850/c6 combo with a matched nos converter. And that's 400 off the brake vs a c6 foot braked.

Then November 2015 I had the c6 and converter gone through, had the driveshaft shortened and installed a new Strange chromoly slip yoke. Also sent the nitrous plate back thinking I had a flow issue and they rebuilt the solenoids and reflowed it but saw nothing wrong inside. Also swapped the feed line to a shorter one, tried several different bottles and gauges, cleaned the inlet screen, banged the kit through the motor (which I don't normally do). 10.21 130. I do believe the current set up has a tenth in it bc it left soft and I ran out of track time but probably not a 10.0.

I see no reason on having the dominator if it isnt helping. Buying all of these parts I was hoping to be consistently in the 9s but it has only held me back. Sorry for the long rant lol trying to cover everything. Also truck runs on nothing but 92 octane pump gas.

tfsbbf466

Posts : 177
Join date : 2012-03-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Dommy vs 850 opinions

Post  tfsbbf466 on January 31st 2016, 2:20 pm

Also a very small detail I left out, when the slip yoke took out my Trans and thrust bearing it wrecked the scat cast 4.15 crank so I had to go with a 4.14 stroke eagle. In turn it lost a hair of compression and 1 cubic inch.

tfsbbf466

Posts : 177
Join date : 2012-03-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Dommy vs 850 opinions

Post  Dave De on January 31st 2016, 3:50 pm

I do like hearing that the C6 is quicker than the 400 even though the rollerized aspect of the 400 should beat out the C6.
3" collectors are small but the x pipe should be an advantage.
Something stupid like the throttle cable adjustment was not opening completely on the Dommy may have happened. This has happened to me before. It takes two to see if the back barrels are opening all the way so sometimes its overlooked.
How do the header ports line up with heads? I just think that there is something going on with exhaust restriction to cause this.
avatar
Dave De

Posts : 556
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Utica, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Dommy vs 850 opinions

Post  BBFTorino on January 31st 2016, 5:05 pm

Dave De wrote:I do like hearing that the C6 is quicker than the 400 even though the rollerized aspect of the 400 should beat out the C6.
3" collectors are small but the x pipe should be an advantage.  
Something stupid like the throttle cable adjustment was not opening completely on the Dommy may have happened. This has happened to me before. It takes two to see if the back barrels are opening all the way so sometimes its overlooked.
How do the header ports line up with heads? I just think that there is something going on with exhaust restriction to cause this.
You could be on to something. Those are certainly things to check.
Im kinda leaning towards the converter....Im thinking the converter in the TH400 was slipping a slight bit, and causing a loss of ET and MPH.
It seems that the converter in the C6 is a little bit tighter, thus it "grabs" a hair sooner and does not slip as much on the top end.
Dont give up on the Dommy just yet!!
When you launch, do you nail the NOS button at the same time, or do you roll out a few feet before activating it??
What I would do, is get it all together, and go test & tune on motor only....get it to run its best on motor, take NOS out of the picture until you have it dialed in on motor.
Then proceed with the spray and see how it compares.
I'd be curious to see a back to back test between the 850 and the Dommy.

BBFTorino

Posts : 667
Join date : 2015-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Dommy vs 850 opinions

Post  dfree383 on January 31st 2016, 6:53 pm

tfsbbf466 wrote:It's on a drag radials I know when it spins and when it hooks. They aren't forgiving like a slick.

Regardless of the rest of the combo a more efficient (so they say) trans, a better carb and better nitrous kit should not slow the truck down. And I've had ample time to dial it in as it's been since October 2013 when it made the best pass.

At this point I'm not looking to pick up I just want back what I already had. It made probably a dozen 10.0 passes at the end of 2013. After all these part changes it hasn't been a 10.0 since. I guess ill swap the carb and nitrous plate and report back my results no matter if they are positive, negative or exactly the same lol.

Is this all on the same track with the same weather?
avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 14188
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Dommy vs 850 opinions

Post  tfsbbf466 on January 31st 2016, 8:34 pm

My truck has a throttle linkage set up and it is opening 100%. Otherwise it wouldn't be hitting the microswitch on the carb. I had to mess with it a bit to make it perfect but it works well. I used a nice kit with an aluminum link and small rod ends hooked up to the stock pedal.

I'm running an Edelbrock progressive controller. I leave on a percentage of spray 30-50% and ramp it in fast. I know what worked the best and have tried that same set up with every combo. Have also left on 100% with a push button to rule out the progressive controller being bad. You guys really have no idea how much time I spent going over everything and trying to eliminate any and all variables lol. Enough that the truck at times would sit for a month bc of shear frustration. Then I would find things wrong, fix them, and it would not pick up. It would feel faster on the street and I would be sure it was going to be better but I was wrong.

I used a cj gasket to figure out how much to open up the holes in the header for the port roofs to line up perfectly. It should be pretty damn close. No soot on the header flange and it has a nice crease around the whole perimeter of the gasket.

98% of the passes are at the same track and the best passes were all recorded on nice low elevation days in the late fall. My track is only 10 miles away and it's always driven to and from the track.

Motor passes are pretty consistent but it leaves soft with the foot braked c6 and the dominator. Best motor pass with the old set up was an 11.25 117 with a 1.61 60ft. The Trans brake th400 and dominator on a cold December day with great traction and 60ft only netted me a 11.19 117 with a 1.53 60ft. That's leave at 3500 off the 2 step. Tried up to 3900 with no gains.

tfsbbf466

Posts : 177
Join date : 2012-03-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Page 2 of 2 Previous  1, 2

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum