2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

View previous topic View next topic Go down

2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  512Fairlane on January 29th 2016, 10:44 pm

What is the general opinion of the 6.7L Diesel in a 2013 F450? Looking at one with 19,000 miles. Happy with my 6.2 L Gas F250 but this one popped up on a local lot and it looks interesting. Never had a diesel and I've heard so many bad things about them I was curious how this one compares to the previous diesels.
avatar
512Fairlane

Posts : 694
Join date : 2009-08-19
Location : Mid Missouri

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  torino501 on January 30th 2016, 9:54 am

buy a ford esp warranty, use only ford filters, use ford only def. change oil every 5k miles.use a fuel cetane/ lubricity additive. drive it like a diesel. they don't like the grandpa driving habits.

torino501

Posts : 353
Join date : 2013-05-08
Location : THE GREAT STATE OF TEXAS!!!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  dfree383 on January 30th 2016, 10:40 am

Keep the 6.2.... And save your money.

avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 13413
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  whitefield on January 30th 2016, 11:00 am

torino501 wrote:buy a ford esp warranty, use only ford filters, use ford only def. change oil every 5k miles.use a fuel cetane/ lubricity additive. drive it like a diesel. they don't like the grandpa driving habits.

X2 ^^^^^^^
avatar
whitefield

Posts : 2132
Join date : 2009-08-23
Age : 49

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  richter69 on January 30th 2016, 11:56 am

whitefield wrote:
torino501 wrote:buy a ford esp warranty, use only ford filters, use ford only def. change oil every 5k miles.use a fuel cetane/ lubricity additive. drive it like a diesel. they don't like the grandpa driving habits.

X2 ^^^^^^^


Same. Ext warranty is a must... Dont get a goofy aftermarket one either stick w ford esp
avatar
richter69

Posts : 13635
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 46
Location : In the winners circle

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  supervel45 on January 30th 2016, 12:04 pm

dfree383 wrote:Keep the 6.2.... And save your money.



Same unless you tow a lot of heavy loads often.

supervel45

Posts : 2982
Join date : 2013-09-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  dfree383 on January 30th 2016, 9:41 pm

richter69 wrote:
whitefield wrote:
torino501 wrote:buy a ford esp warranty, use only ford filters, use ford only def. change oil every 5k miles.use a fuel cetane/ lubricity additive. drive it like a diesel. they don't like the grandpa driving habits.

X2 ^^^^^^^


Same. Ext warranty is a must... Dont get a goofy aftermarket one either stick w ford esp

It's a damn shame you spend 50-75k on a truck and are warned to get the extended warranty at extra cost..... Why the hell are people buying this junk???? Why dosent ford step up and back their product ???
avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 13413
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  AZFairlane on January 30th 2016, 10:24 pm

I haven't had any problems with mine, 2013 F350 CC, 18mpg empty and 11mpg towing my 48' enclosed two car trailer with living quarters, with two cars in it (69 Mach 1 and Honda Accord).  I roughly guessed total weight was about 24,000lbs.
avatar
AZFairlane
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 516
Join date : 2009-02-02
Age : 64
Location : North of Phoenix

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  512Fairlane on January 30th 2016, 11:21 pm

I tow a 28 foot Haulmark with 3500 lb Fairlane, old golf cart and a Jr. dragster on a lift. Fully loaded with the rest of our junk the trailer is close to 12,000 lbs. I added air bags to my 2012 F250 and it does OK with the 6.2 gasser but I know I'm pushing its limits somewhat. We added another Jr. for my daughter this year so the Fairlane may be staying home more often but looking long term we may want a bigger trailer with room for both Jr's, the Fairlane and possibly living quarters. I was thinking of trading my truck in while it is still worth something. The problem is the truck would also be my daily driver and I only have a 2 mile commute to work. I think that would not be good for a diesel. Its probably not good for a gas motor either but it is what it is.
avatar
512Fairlane

Posts : 694
Join date : 2009-08-19
Location : Mid Missouri

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  richter69 on January 31st 2016, 12:28 am

I will say the 13's and up have way less issues than the 11 and 12's........ its not a question of you have to have it, but if something breaks it damn sure aint gonna be cheap........ this applies to all of um, even the old 7.3.


I sure dont see how folks afford the payment on one of these, or the repair bills.
avatar
richter69

Posts : 13635
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 46
Location : In the winners circle

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  zbob on January 31st 2016, 2:27 am

I am not man enough to need a real truck but at some point a used semi is cheaper than todays freakin diesel pick ups. bobn

zbob

Posts : 232
Join date : 2009-08-17
Age : 62
Location : mn

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  yellowhorse7 on January 31st 2016, 9:41 am

Save your money....buy a GMC or Chevy
avatar
yellowhorse7

Posts : 1382
Join date : 2009-11-16
Age : 91
Location : Polk County

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  stangr8cr on January 31st 2016, 10:40 am

I have a 12 6.7 and love mine. I wil say mine is not stock and is a beast but they are expensive to fix if something breaks and is not under warranty. Mine is tuned and deleted and I lost a turbo at 21k miles. Tuned at 3.5k miles and didn't drive it hard. From reading, looks like ford made a small revision in the turbo on the 13 and up trucks. I've also heard of stock trucks hurting turbos on 11 and 12's so I wasn't surprised. I retro fitted the newer 15 style turbo on my 12 with custom tuning and the truck runs awesome. Jon works on them everyday so he knows a hell of a lot more than me so I'd listen to him but if you take care of it, it will take care of you has been my experience. Poppa bear has had 2, a 12 and now a 15 without issue. Maintaining them on the severe duty schedule is highly recommended, oil change and fuel filters @ 5k and 10k miles.


Boo Boo
avatar
stangr8cr
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 579
Join date : 2009-08-08
Age : 38
Location : Hermitage, TN.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  whitefield on January 31st 2016, 10:47 am

yellowhorse7 wrote:Save your money....buy a GMC or Chevy

 Ok ! I can say for sure that Chevrolet and GMC are 100 times worse than a Ford ever thought about being.
A truck came into my shop needing a trans over haule with only 48,000 miles and GM would not Warranty the trans and customer explained that it still had 22,000 miles left on the warranty . The truck was not junk it was still like new. If it is a highway truck and a driveway truck then get you a GM product .  If you use it like a truck then and not abuse it then see how long the transmission,  rearend, brakes , front suspension stays in the truck and then the doors and trim start falling off of them with  75% of the parts coming from China.
 Those trucks are like all these guys walking around all blowed up on steroids with there girl getting muscles !l lol!

By the way I am an independent shop and last month alone I have built eight GM transmissions and one on the table now and one on the lift waiting to be pulled . This summer we rebuilt or installed about the same amount of rearends in GM alone and don't get me started on GM transfer cases ! Ok Rant over for now ! Arrow


Last edited by whitefield on January 31st 2016, 11:05 am; edited 4 times in total
avatar
whitefield

Posts : 2132
Join date : 2009-08-23
Age : 49

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  whitefield on January 31st 2016, 10:49 am

stangr8cr wrote:I have a 12 6.7 and love mine. I wil say mine is not stock and is a beast but they are expensive to fix if something breaks and is not under warranty. Mine is tuned and deleted and I lost a turbo at 21k miles. Tuned at 3.5k miles and didn't drive it hard. From reading, looks like ford made a small revision in the turbo on the 13 and up trucks. I've also heard of stock trucks hurting turbos on 11 and 12's so I wasn't surprised. I retro fitted the newer 15 style turbo on my 12 with custom tuning and the truck runs awesome. Jon works on them everyday so he knows a hell of a lot more than me so I'd listen to him but if you take care of it, it will take care of you has been my experience. Poppa bear has had 2, a 12 and now a 15 without issue. Maintaining them on the severe duty schedule is highly recommended, oil change and fuel filters @ 5k and 10k miles.


Boo Boo

All diesels are expensive period! I agree ^^^^
avatar
whitefield

Posts : 2132
Join date : 2009-08-23
Age : 49

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  torino501 on January 31st 2016, 11:10 am

you know.. I can look past the early 11's with the ex valve cracking and destroying the engine. but the cranks spinning the bearings and that high pressure pump (cp-4) is made out of butterfly vagina. that's the deal breaker for me. them sumbitches do run though. good lord do they run. they are far from being built ford tough...

torino501

Posts : 353
Join date : 2013-05-08
Location : THE GREAT STATE OF TEXAS!!!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  richter69 on January 31st 2016, 11:55 am

There aint many gm diesels around these parts for a reason.... Only thing I see hotshotting or in the oilfield is ford or dodge, and most are fords.

I have a few buddies w the chevys and they hate um, slend most of the time in the shop.

I will agree the 6.7 sure aint as robust as a 7.3 or a 6.0.
avatar
richter69

Posts : 13635
Join date : 2008-12-02
Age : 46
Location : In the winners circle

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  Lem Evans on January 31st 2016, 12:16 pm

dfree383 wrote:
richter69 wrote:
whitefield wrote:
torino501 wrote:buy a ford esp warranty, use only ford filters, use ford only def. change oil every 5k miles.use a fuel cetane/ lubricity additive. drive it like a diesel. they don't like the grandpa driving habits.

X2 ^^^^^^^


Same. Ext warranty is a must... Dont get a goofy aftermarket one either stick w ford esp

It's a damn shame you spend 50-75k on a truck and are warned to get the extended warranty at extra cost..... Why the hell are people buying this junk???? Why dosent ford step up and back their product ???

The context of the OP was a USED truck. The new units have a 5 yr/100,000 engine warranty and buyers seldom purchase an extended service plan.

Purchasing the Ford ESP is something a used vehicle buyer should consider. It ain't that much different than the insurance most of us carry on the rest of our vehicle[s].

Lem Evans

Posts : 6826
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Livermore , Ky

View user profile http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  torino501 on January 31st 2016, 12:46 pm

Lem Evans wrote:
dfree383 wrote:
richter69 wrote:
whitefield wrote:
torino501 wrote:buy a ford esp warranty, use only ford filters, use ford only def. change oil every 5k miles.use a fuel cetane/ lubricity additive. drive it like a diesel. they don't like the grandpa driving habits.

X2 ^^^^^^^


Same. Ext warranty is a must... Dont get a goofy aftermarket one either stick w ford esp

It's a damn shame you spend 50-75k on a truck and are warned to get the extended warranty at extra cost..... Why the hell are people buying this junk???? Why dosent ford step up and back their product ???

The context of the OP was a USED truck. The new units have a 5 yr/100,000 engine warranty and buyers seldom purchase an extended service plan.

Purchasing the Ford ESP is something a used vehicle buyer should consider. It ain't that much different than the insurance most of us carry on the rest of our vehicle[s].

that 5/100 has more holes in it than swiss cheese... there's several components that arnt covered under the 5/100... example the cold side cac hose that's a common issue blows off... at say 65k no coverage as its considered powertrain 5/60. it blows apart all the excessive soot in the intake tract gets ingested and plugs the dpf/doc/scr it also is only good for 5/50k... that 150.00 piece of crap cac hose takes out 5k worth of exhaust sys. no coverage. period!!! that's where the ford esp comes in. esp covers pretty much everything but trim and exterior and wear and tear/maint items. also out of the blue the 15' are having trans issues... its hit or miss though.
wife is a warr admin at a different ford dealer. talk about spirited conversations about ford and there shenanigans...

torino501

Posts : 353
Join date : 2013-05-08
Location : THE GREAT STATE OF TEXAS!!!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2013 6.7L Diesel F450 opinions

Post  Lem Evans on January 31st 2016, 1:01 pm

torino501 wrote:
Lem Evans wrote:
dfree383 wrote:
richter69 wrote:
whitefield wrote:
torino501 wrote:buy a ford esp warranty, use only ford filters, use ford only def. change oil every 5k miles.use a fuel cetane/ lubricity additive. drive it like a diesel. they don't like the grandpa driving habits.

X2 ^^^^^^^


Same. Ext warranty is a must... Dont get a goofy aftermarket one either stick w ford esp

It's a damn shame you spend 50-75k on a truck and are warned to get the extended warranty at extra cost..... Why the hell are people buying this junk???? Why dosent ford step up and back their product ???

The context of the OP was a USED truck. The new units have a 5 yr/100,000 engine warranty and buyers seldom purchase an extended service plan.

Purchasing the Ford ESP is something a used vehicle buyer should consider. It ain't that much different than the insurance most of us carry on the rest of our vehicle[s].

that 5/100 has more holes in it than swiss cheese... there's several components that arnt covered under the 5/100... example the cold side cac hose that's a common issue blows off... at say 65k no coverage as its considered powertrain 5/60. it blows apart all the excessive soot in the intake tract gets ingested and plugs the dpf/doc/scr it also is only good for 5/50k... that 150.00 piece of crap cac hose takes out 5k worth of exhaust sys. no coverage. period!!! that's where the ford esp comes in.  esp covers pretty much everything but trim and exterior and wear and tear/maint items. also out of the blue the 15' are having trans issues... its hit or miss though.
wife is a warr admin at a different ford dealer.  talk about spirited conversations about ford and there shenanigans...

I didn't say not to buy the ESP on a new unit. Just stated that my new buyers seldom do. I think we all can agree that an engine warranty is not a powertrain warranty.

Lem Evans

Posts : 6826
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Livermore , Ky

View user profile http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum