BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

SFT to solid roller. Let's hear it.

+6
dfree383
supervel45
rmcomprandy
gmsmkr
Carl
BigRigTech
10 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

SFT to solid roller. Let's hear it. Empty SFT to solid roller. Let's hear it.

Post  BigRigTech April 12th 2016, 9:35 am

So I'm bored out of my mind, the wife had me "snipped" yesterday so I can't do squat  No  Being a truck mechanic my doctor wants me to take it easy for a week (no heavy lifting which is kinda hard not to do for me). My Mustang is in pieces in the garage, I have cash work to do that is piling up like cord wood and we are going away for 10 days to florida in a week and a half. Our first race is May 28-29. $3G worth of new parts are piling up at my buddy's place in New Brunswick as he brings them across the border for me ( MT 275 drag radial Pro's on new 10" rims, team-Z ARB kit and SA lower rear arms, new TRZ spherical bushings for the 9" diff, strange SA front struts and wildwood disc brakes for the 9")...Hoping to get into the 9's this year with improved 60ft's. Best last year was a 10.08 in good air. Best MPH was 135 so that's enough for 9's but it was consistently 133mph most runs. Best 60 was a 1.43 on new slicks with stock V8 springs and SSM bars.

If I was to go with a solid roller cam with my current setup next year, am I looking at enough of a power increase to justify the cost? I would want good roller lifters - nothing cheap. Cam swap only is my question. Based on my ET, MPH and weight my engine is making 590-600HP now. It dyno'd at 563HP with bad windage issues which have been corrected. (suction problem had is using 10L of oil in a 7L pan)

460 D1VE block, bored .060",  472" CID
balanced rotating assembly
2YABC crank with King bearings
Eagle H-beams
PRW balancer
Carl’s custom dual flycut forged Probe pistons (P51 or SCJ) 15cc dish