BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

'71 429 cobra jet engine rebuild...

2 posters

Go down

'71 429 cobra jet engine rebuild... Empty '71 429 cobra jet engine rebuild...

Post  Pastel Blue June 28th 2016, 3:24 pm

This 4UA crank was turned once previously, looks like -0.10, Unfortunately, the engine was since used to the point of creating additional damage to a number of the bearings with this crank journal being the worst. How much can they turn a crank moving forward and is there bearings available to salvage this crank. I am not an expert in these areas, just trying to get some info before I approach a machine shop to do the work. The engine will need new bearings throughout. Cam shaft/lifters are original (to be replaced) and so are the cam bearings (to be replaced), all crank bearings will need replacing, as well as all rod bearings (+ some of the original CJ rods were changed out previously for the standard fare (a mix mash of rods...), so will I look to buy complete new rods moving forward? The pistons are TRW 0.40 overbore, not sure if they are salvageable (and when considering the desired compression ratio moving forward if I would even want to reuse these...) as well as the piston bores. There was no ridge in the bores, no obvious signs of damage, but some slight wear in the piston skirt path within the bore. The pistons came out easily. How do I know if the bores can do with a honing or a re-boring? Don't really want to re-bore if it can be avoided...