BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Converted to distributorless ignition!

+3
fastbarry
whatbumper
SandHillsHillbilly
7 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Converted to distributorless ignition! Empty Converted to distributorless ignition!

Post  BigBlockRanger July 25th 2016, 11:32 am

A while back I decided it was time to upgrade from the GM style HEI distributor I have been using for 5-6 years.  Over that time, it has worked ok with occasional spats of weirdness.  I always kept it locked out, but it was certainly not the most accurate set-up by a long shot.

I used to own a Megasquirt V2.2 back when I had the Ranger and remembered that it had the capability to control spark.  I called up the local guy that I sold it to and sure enough, he still had it.  I asked what he wanted for it and he said I could just have it because he has moved on to MS3 for all his stuff.

Excellent.

Not long after, CDMBill mentioned he had a set of coils, a bracket, an EFI Source Coil Igniter and some wiring he used in his '71 for several years.  I bought those parts from him and the only part of the puzzle that remained was a way to trigger it.
Converted to distributorless ignition! Igniti10

Bought a billet hatchet weight and a Dorman 36-1 trigger wheel for a Ford mod motor.
Converted to distributorless ignition! 20151010

"Machined" the center out to fit the spacer.
Converted to distributorless ignition! 20151011

Fit like a glove. Decided to wait to attach it until after the pickup mount to designed.
Converted to distributorless ignition! Img_2010

Pickup bracket I made with a Cherry hall sensor.
Converted to distributorless ignition! 20160610

Bill's coil bracket. It did not fit my engine quite right since Bill has a belt drive and tunnel ram.
Converted to distributorless ignition! 20160710