Need opinions on plugs.

Go down

Need opinions on plugs.

Post  70FB on August 20th 2016, 3:20 am

A429 headed 522. 13:6:1. 730 lift. 733 on dyno at 38 with 114 at 6800.
It's went 6.02 this year in bad air.... 3300da and bad humidity.
I've been running a 100 shot delayed on a leash board .08-1.2 delay off the line for 5.90 class.
Plugs have looked good and we brought 2* back in based off the plugs and mph.
Changed plugs every run. Towed to lanes,etc.

i ran a 6.0 class on motor with 38* back in it two weeks ago.
Question is.... Why are #3 and#7 rusted looking??
avatar
70FB
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 820
Join date : 2012-07-28
Age : 44
Location : VA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  70FB on August 20th 2016, 3:24 am

6.0 class was all motor on 114 with 38. Then the car sat for two weeks. Compression check tomorrow.
avatar
70FB
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 820
Join date : 2012-07-28
Age : 44
Location : VA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  BBFTorino on August 20th 2016, 4:41 am

Rust means there is moisture somewhere.
Compression check and pressurized coolant system check.

BBFTorino

Posts : 603
Join date : 2015-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  DaveMcLain on August 20th 2016, 7:42 am

Some fuels can cause stuff like that to rust VERY quickly if there is any moisture. That moisture can come from the air itself if the engine sat for a couple of weeks.


DaveMcLain

Posts : 360
Join date : 2009-09-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  70FB on August 20th 2016, 9:23 am

Last it ran was on the 13th after a race. I had 112 in it at the time. Cranking compression last night all came in between 249-255. It just strikes me odd those are the only two cylinders like that. Garage is insulated. Open headers.
avatar
70FB
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 820
Join date : 2012-07-28
Age : 44
Location : VA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  Curt on August 20th 2016, 9:51 pm

IMHO, you are running to cold of a plug for racing fuel only. They might work well with N2O, but I think a 7 would serve you much better if you're running it all motor.
avatar
Curt

Posts : 2658
Join date : 2009-02-08
Age : 56
Location : Henrietta, Texas but mostly on the road

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  cool40 on August 20th 2016, 10:11 pm

3&7 exhaust valves were probably open wile it set. I had some issues with copper head gaskets leaking that looked like that before. Any missed coolant?
avatar
cool40
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 7165
Join date : 2009-08-31
Age : 47
Location : on the 1/8 mile dyno

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  70FB on August 21st 2016, 1:44 pm

Those are #9s. I run some index races with a 100 shot delayed 2.2 seconds and also run 6.0 index on motor. I change from 120 to 114 when I do.


Maybe 1/2" of water loss after 8- 10 passes cool40.
avatar
70FB
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 820
Join date : 2012-07-28
Age : 44
Location : VA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  cool40 on August 21st 2016, 2:13 pm

Keep an eye on them two cylinders but being on opposite banks it's not likely an issue,IMO. Even if it's putting a little water through it you can use a block sealer and fix it.
avatar
cool40
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 7165
Join date : 2009-08-31
Age : 47
Location : on the 1/8 mile dyno

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  jbozzelle on August 21st 2016, 3:23 pm

I'd check the torque on the head bolts if you're digging into it. May as well cover all the bases before you decide what is wrong.

jbozzelle

Posts : 3605
Join date : 2009-08-10
Age : 44
Location : New Orleans

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  70FB on August 25th 2016, 10:01 am

Thanks guys. I'm going to race it at YBN and then probably pull it before hunting season starts. Well over 350 passes. I'm sure she is getting a little tired.
avatar
70FB
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 820
Join date : 2012-07-28
Age : 44
Location : VA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need opinions on plugs.

Post  Scott Foxwell on August 25th 2016, 1:55 pm

Curt wrote:IMHO, you are running to cold of a plug for racing fuel only. They might work well with N2O, but I think a 7 would serve you much better if you're running it all motor.
X2 big time! 9's way too cold. I agree on the 7's.

Scott Foxwell

Posts : 398
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : N/E Tennessee

View user profile http://www.straubtechnologies.com

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum