Harmonic Damper opinions

Go down

Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  BBFTorino on March 6th 2018, 1:33 am

TCI "Rattler"....or ATI "Super Damper"
Who, what, when, where, and why?? Cool

BBFTorino

Posts : 668
Join date : 2015-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  cool40 on March 6th 2018, 1:44 am

If that's the only choice, innovators west! Smile
avatar
cool40
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 7169
Join date : 2009-08-31
Age : 47
Location : on the 1/8 mile dyno

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  dfree383 on March 6th 2018, 9:25 am

ATI has some good stuff, I've run a number of them over the years, But Like Lee Said Innovators West FTW, Been on most of my engines for the last 6-8 years
avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 14188
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  BOSS 429 on March 6th 2018, 9:42 am

ATI ,WHY.. Seen innovators fail. TWICE
avatar
BOSS 429

Posts : 2235
Join date : 2009-08-10
Location : Ill

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  Lem Evans on March 6th 2018, 10:35 am

No issues here with the I. W .

Lem Evans

Posts : 7157
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Livermore , Ky

View user profile http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  cool40 on March 6th 2018, 11:29 am

BOSS 429 wrote:ATI ,WHY.. Seen  innovators fail. TWICE
how'd they fail?
avatar
cool40
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 7169
Join date : 2009-08-31
Age : 47
Location : on the 1/8 mile dyno

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  BBFTorino on March 6th 2018, 3:25 pm

What do you guys think about the TCI Rattler??....I have one on a 409 Windsor with all good parts in it (Ford SVO block, Crower crank, etc.), but I have not fired it up yet.....it came with the shortblock when I bought it.

BBFTorino

Posts : 668
Join date : 2015-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  Lem Evans on March 6th 2018, 3:46 pm


Lem Evans

Posts : 7157
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Livermore , Ky

View user profile http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  maverick on March 6th 2018, 7:38 pm

Lem Evans wrote:
j

I have a couple of those cranks in my scrap pile. Both of them Eagles....1 bigblock, 1 smallblock. Rolling Eyes
avatar
maverick
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 3052
Join date : 2009-08-06
Age : 66

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  Dave De on March 6th 2018, 8:27 pm

So if the crank breaks it's always the balancers fault? I dont expect an answer on that question.
I've heard of broken balancers where the ring came off and the engine continued to run for many hours with the broken piece and the engine crank never failed. I know this is abuse but we've all heard these stories.
So if 10 cranks break how many are caused from the balancer?
avatar
Dave De

Posts : 556
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Utica, MI

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  BOSS 429 on March 6th 2018, 8:31 pm

cool40 wrote:
BOSS 429 wrote:ATI ,WHY.. Seen  innovators fail. TWICE
how'd they fail?

knocked the bearings out of one engine, twice

broke 2 cranks 1 billet, I FORGED. set it out to be ran on a spin tron, was WAYYYYYYYY off.

installed an ATI , NO MORE ISSUES.
avatar
BOSS 429

Posts : 2235
Join date : 2009-08-10
Location : Ill

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  dfree383 on March 6th 2018, 8:45 pm

BOSS 429 wrote:
cool40 wrote:
BOSS 429 wrote:ATI ,WHY.. Seen  innovators fail. TWICE
how'd they fail?

knocked the bearings out of  one engine, twice

broke 2 cranks 1 billet, I FORGED. set it out to be ran on a spin tron, was WAYYYYYYYY off.

installed an ATI , NO MORE ISSUES.

Did ya check it before you installed it? On the balancer?
avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 14188
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  cool40 on March 6th 2018, 9:32 pm

Lem Evans wrote:
well that's a big f'n paper weight! Laughing
avatar
cool40
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 7169
Join date : 2009-08-31
Age : 47
Location : on the 1/8 mile dyno

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  BBFTorino on March 6th 2018, 10:00 pm

Lem Evans wrote:
What balancer is that?

BBFTorino

Posts : 668
Join date : 2015-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  maverick on March 6th 2018, 10:24 pm

Dave De wrote:So if the crank breaks it's always the balancers fault? I dont expect an answer on that question.
I've heard of broken balancers where the ring came off and the engine continued to run for many hours with the broken piece and the engine crank never failed. I know this is abuse but we've all heard these stories.
So if 10 cranks break how many are caused from the balancer?

Nosir...not saying that at all. Quite the contrary. I just saw some familiar looking schrapnel in that photo. Sorry for the hijack. Rolling Eyes
avatar
maverick
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 3052
Join date : 2009-08-06
Age : 66

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  6t6mustang on March 6th 2018, 10:50 pm

Innovators west. Nothing against ati but the way IW balancers work just make far more sense..
avatar
6t6mustang

Posts : 82
Join date : 2013-09-08
Age : 43
Location : redding, ca

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  BOSS 429 on March 6th 2018, 11:11 pm

dfree383 wrote:
BOSS 429 wrote:
cool40 wrote:
BOSS 429 wrote:ATI ,WHY.. Seen  innovators fail. TWICE
how'd they fail?

knocked the bearings out of  one engine, twice

broke 2 cranks 1 billet, I FORGED. set it out to be ran on a spin tron, was WAYYYYYYYY off.

installed an ATI , NO MORE ISSUES.

Did ya check it before you installed it? On the balancer?

Yes,It was checked. Then check by another shop in indy ( complete rotating asb)after the 2nd set of bearings were wore funny thinking eng out of ballance, It was not. Then after 2nd broken crank it was sent out and put on a spintron. Cust then sent it back, had them test it. They said it was way off @ rpm.


avatar
BOSS 429

Posts : 2235
Join date : 2009-08-10
Location : Ill

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Harmonic Damper opinions

Post  cool40 on March 6th 2018, 11:13 pm

BBFTorino wrote:
Lem Evans wrote:
What balancer is that?
that looks like an ATI but I could be wrong. It probably didn't have nothing to do with the obvious issues. I have ATI and IW both are never any problems with either.
avatar
cool40
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 7169
Join date : 2009-08-31
Age : 47
Location : on the 1/8 mile dyno

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum