Cosmetic opinion

Go down

Cosmetic opinion

Post  stanger68 on March 16th 2018, 12:01 am

Well I'm getting closer on the 557 build. I got the heads bolted on tonight and the engine is almost ready for paint. Picture this in your minds eye. white fox body, blue chassis and cage, the engine will be painted ford blue to match the chassis. The valve covers are powder coated silver. I'm torn on painting the gold Milodon oil pan blue, silver to match the valve covers, or just leave it gold. There is absolutely nothing else on the entire car gold (other than rim screws). I'm leaning toward the blue.

Any other ideas? gray maybe?

stanger68

Posts : 204
Join date : 2015-12-05
Location : Birmingham, Al

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Cosmetic opinion

Post  69F100 on March 16th 2018, 5:18 am

Blue
avatar
69F100
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 5126
Join date : 2009-01-04
Age : 51
Location : Irwinville Ga.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Cosmetic opinion

Post  dfree383 on March 16th 2018, 6:55 am

Powder coat silver like the valve covers?
avatar
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 14083
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Cosmetic opinion

Post  rmcomprandy on March 16th 2018, 11:25 am

When doing something like that, I use Rust-Oleum "HAMMER FINISH" paint of the color I want.

That stuff is great.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 5045
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

View user profile http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Cosmetic opinion

Post  stanger68 on March 17th 2018, 12:39 am

dfree383 wrote:Powder coat silver like the valve covers?

rmcomprandy wrote:When doing something like that, I use Rust-Oleum "HAMMER FINISH" paint of the color I want.

That stuff is great.

Too late for powder coating to match it's already mounted.

Randy, I really like the hammer tone stuff when it's done right. I tried it a couple, of times turned out good half the time.

Thanks for the suggestions. I have awhile to make the decision I'm about as far as I can go until I get the injection system. Hopefully I can get it ordered next week or so. Maybe on the dyno next month sometime. I'll post up some pics and data when it's all done.


stanger68

Posts : 204
Join date : 2015-12-05
Location : Birmingham, Al

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Cosmetic opinion

Post  cool40 on March 18th 2018, 12:13 am

stanger68 wrote:
dfree383 wrote:Powder coat silver like the valve covers?

rmcomprandy wrote:When doing something like that, I use Rust-Oleum "HAMMER FINISH" paint of the color I want.

That stuff is great.

Too late for powder coating to match it's already mounted.

Randy, I really like the hammer tone stuff when it's done right. I tried it a couple, of times turned out good half the time.

Thanks for the suggestions. I have awhile to make the decision I'm about as far as I can  go until I get the injection system. Hopefully I can get it ordered next week or so.  Maybe on the dyno next month sometime. I'll post up some pics and data when it's all done.

I've used a lot of the rust-oleum and never had a problem. Spray can is always predictable and even the brush on stuff works good. I use a sponge brush and dab it on. With all that said,I'd paint it blue! Razz
avatar
cool40
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 7144
Join date : 2009-08-31
Age : 47
Location : on the 1/8 mile dyno

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum