Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please..

Go down

Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please.. Empty Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please..

Post  nascar429 on September 26th 2019, 11:13 am



Hi All..

Helping a friend who had an engine built for him by someone else.. that I've fitted into the car..it has double valve springs for a hydraulic cam i checked them and open pressure is 290 -300lbs which worried me a little for initial camshaft break in.

I removed the inner spring and it was down to 190lbs-200 lbs ran the camshaft in for 25 minutes at 2000 - 2400 rpm all good so far..refitted the inner springs and plan to run it up again tomorrow..

My question do you guys like to run the camshaft up again at 2000 - 2400 rpm a second time for 20-25 minutes with the now final higher spring pressure..? that is my thinking and plan so far.

opinions appreciated Thank you.

nascar429

Posts : 82
Join date : 2015-11-08

Back to top Go down

Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please.. Empty Re: Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please..

Post  BBFTorino on September 26th 2019, 12:26 pm

I don't think too many people run it a 2nd time with the full spring pressure, but it surely would not hurt anything by doing so.

BBFTorino

Posts : 811
Join date : 2015-12-31

Back to top Go down

Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please.. Empty Re: Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please..

Post  away on September 26th 2019, 1:37 pm

The important thing here is good oil with ZDDP additive.
away
away

Posts : 264
Join date : 2009-10-08
Age : 41
Location : Harrodsburg KY

Back to top Go down

Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please.. Empty Re: Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please..

Post  nascar429 on September 26th 2019, 8:23 pm



He is running Brad Penn 20/50 from memory... I added a bottle of Crane cams super lube break in concentrate.

nascar429

Posts : 82
Join date : 2015-11-08

Back to top Go down

Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please.. Empty Re: Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please..

Post  rmcomprandy on September 27th 2019, 7:50 pm

The main reason higher RPM is suggested is to have the oil pressure raised to a higher point than it is at idle.

rmcomprandy

Posts : 5472
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please.. Empty Re: Running in a flat tappet cam.. opinions on procedure please..

Post  Carl on September 30th 2019, 3:28 pm

I always did a second 15 min break-in cycle after installing the inner springs. Heat cycling is good.


.

Carl

Posts : 284
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Colorado

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum