Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  away on October 16th 2019, 3:54 pm

........and ......go!
away
away

Posts : 264
Join date : 2009-10-08
Age : 41
Location : Harrodsburg KY

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  fordguy69 on October 16th 2019, 7:19 pm

I just got a set from Cam Research.  Look like very nice pieces, only have about 500 miles on the engine, so time will tell.  But they looked pretty beefy and machine work was very nice.

fordguy69

Posts : 98
Join date : 2011-08-02

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  Dave De on October 16th 2019, 9:59 pm

Manufactured by Morel the bushed versions over the needle bearing type.
Dave De
Dave De

Posts : 587
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Highland, MI

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  BOSS 429 on October 17th 2019, 12:10 am

COMP CAMS rollers with needels , NEVER A FAILURE , BEEN USING THEM SINCE THE EARLY 80S, HAVE CHANGED OUT A FEW SETS AFTER 10YEARS

LOTS OF STREET MILES

600 RUNS ON ONE SET

ONLY ONE'S I PREFER TO USE

GETTING READY TO SEND IN SET THAT WERE NEW IN 2007 TO BE REBUILT , LOT OF RUNS ON THESE
BOSS 429
BOSS 429

Posts : 2295
Join date : 2009-08-10
Location : Ill

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  dfree383 on October 17th 2019, 12:40 pm

I’ve used Cranes, Morels, Crowers and Comps of various levels

Only ever had issues with the low end comp stuff, they liked to spread the housing out on big cams with big springs, but they generally worked fine on the small stuff with mild springs
dfree383
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Posts : 14268
Join date : 2009-07-09
Location : Home Wif Da Wife.....

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  away on October 17th 2019, 1:42 pm

I have always used comps and used the rebuild program with no issues.  The 572 that I had bought that I have now turned into a 632  has crane in it so I was just wondering about opinions.


Last edited by away on October 17th 2019, 1:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
away
away

Posts : 264
Join date : 2009-10-08
Age : 41
Location : Harrodsburg KY

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  away on October 17th 2019, 1:49 pm

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Crane_10

These are the ones in this build.
away
away

Posts : 264
Join date : 2009-10-08
Age : 41
Location : Harrodsburg KY

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  strokedmyford on October 17th 2019, 7:29 pm

crower- they rebuild, comp cam no longer does. No lifter will last forever change them on a regular basis, the metal nowadays is unpredictable.
strokedmyford
strokedmyford

Posts : 125
Join date : 2009-02-10
Age : 46
Location : Nebraska

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  c.evans on October 17th 2019, 11:40 pm

I agree with what Dennis Bloom said. Comp Cams has not rebuilt lifters for awhile now. What they do is just send you new lifters, based on how ever many you need.
Charlie






c.evans
BBF VENDOR SPONSOR
BBF VENDOR SPONSOR

Posts : 2244
Join date : 2008-12-03

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  Gregaust on October 18th 2019, 5:50 am

BOSS 429 wrote:COMP CAMS rollers with needels , NEVER A FAILURE , BEEN USING THEM SINCE THE EARLY 80S, HAVE CHANGED OUT A FEW SETS AFTER 10YEARS

LOTS OF STREET MILES

600 RUNS ON ONE SET

ONLY ONE'S I PREFER TO USE

GETTING READY TO SEND IN SET THAT WERE NEW IN 2007 TO BE REBUILT , LOT OF RUNS ON THESE

Yes same . My Comps are 13 yrs now .Not a lot of street miles but 3000 kms now .  I'm very particular with regular rocker adjustments . Lash never changes
XR292R street roller helps too I guess

Gregaust

Posts : 531
Join date : 2009-08-09

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  lance flake on October 18th 2019, 10:33 am

I have ran mostly comp lifter in all my engine build with no problems. The last few builds have got morels installed so far no issue.

lance flake

Posts : 101
Join date : 2009-12-28
Location : union ms

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  BOSS 429 on October 18th 2019, 11:25 am

lance flake wrote:I have ran mostly comp lifter in all my engine build with no problems. The last few builds have got morels installed so far no issue.



shame comp is not rebuilding them anymore, I have had a few sets done by them over the years.
BOSS 429
BOSS 429

Posts : 2295
Join date : 2009-08-10
Location : Ill

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  bigford632 on October 19th 2019, 3:34 pm

Surprising to hear Comp doesn't rebuild them any more. I have a set of their bushed Sportsman series and their site specifically says they are rebuildable.

Rebuildable design means these are the last lifters you’ll ever have to buy


https://www.compcams.com/sportsman-solid-roller-lifter-set-w-bushing-for-ford-352-428-429-460.html

bigford632

Posts : 39
Join date : 2018-01-04

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  Wayne Pearce on October 21st 2019, 10:37 am

I sent them a set of big block Ford lifters to rebuild, got them back in decent time. I put them on the shelf for future use, about a year later I went to install them in a new build, they were the wrong lifters! They were small block Ford lifters (oil holes were on wrong side of lifter body). When I contacted them about it, they simply said "turn them around", I told them it wouldn't work as the tie bars wouldn't clear the walls of the tappet chamber. To make a long story short, they refused to make good on it, except to offer me the right lifters at (slightly reduced price). I was jammed up for a set of lifters, so I had no choice but to take their offer. I wasn't very happy!

Wayne Pearce

Posts : 633
Join date : 2009-08-19
Age : 76
Location : Greenfield Center, New York

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  rmcomprandy on October 21st 2019, 10:58 am

bigford632 wrote:Surprising to hear Comp doesn't rebuild them any more. I have a set of their bushed Sportsman series and their site specifically says they are rebuildable.

Rebuildable design means these are the last lifters you’ll ever have to buy


https://www.compcams.com/sportsman-solid-roller-lifter-set-w-bushing-for-ford-352-428-429-460.html

That "the last lifters you'll ever have to buy" is not true ... when a lifter is rebuilt it is examined for all sorts of things other than just replacing the consumable parts. If the main body is in any way cracked, spread or otherwise suspect that lifter needs to be replaced and is not rebuilt.

When sending lifters in to be rebuilt, I usually have had to buy maybe 2 or 3 and the others are rebuilt

rmcomprandy

Posts : 5472
Join date : 2008-12-02
Location : Roseville, Michigan

http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  jbozzelle on October 30th 2019, 11:31 am

Morel

jbozzelle

Posts : 3691
Join date : 2009-08-10
Age : 45
Location : New Orleans

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  Curt on October 31st 2019, 9:46 am

Jesel.
Curt
Curt

Posts : 2698
Join date : 2009-02-08
Age : 57
Location : Henrietta, Texas but mostly on the road

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  Lem Evans on October 31st 2019, 12:07 pm

Curt wrote: Jesel.

High roller Very Happy

Lem Evans

Posts : 7298
Join date : 2008-12-03
Location : Livermore , Ky

http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Empty Re: Opinions on solid roller lifter brands

Post  Curt on November 7th 2019, 4:22 pm

Lem Evans wrote:
Curt wrote: Jesel.

High roller Very Happy

Opinions on solid roller lifter brands Sz4_7410
Curt
Curt

Posts : 2698
Join date : 2009-02-08
Age : 57
Location : Henrietta, Texas but mostly on the road

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum