BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

timing ???'s

4 posters

Go down

timing ???'s Empty timing ???'s

Post  Big block fox 339 November 23rd 2009, 10:10 pm

im a newb building my first motor and car. its a 545 d1ve block over 30 scat 4.5 cast crank 6.7 rods 24cc probe pistons lunati 61604 cam dove heads 74cc 10.8to1 cr. its going in a 93 fox street car the motor is built im almost ready to put it in i just dont know anything about timing im clueless confused i dont even nknow how to to put the dist in or what the timing should b? is there a certain way the dist goes in what should the timing b does it need to b locked or not. sorry the dumb ??'s if i forgot some details let me know

thanks micah
Big block fox 339
Big block fox 339

Back to top Go down

timing ???'s Empty Here's how I do it

Post  BillBallinger November 23rd 2009, 10:40 pm

I pull the passenger side valver cover and get a big socket for the balancer and breaker bar, You want it on TDC, but it needs to be on the right TDC, so watch the valves and turn the engine wiith the bar until the intake closes and you come back toward TDC, stop at where you want the initital timing to be like say 14°BTDC. Take the distributor and note where #1 is, it will usually be on the cap. Put the rotor on and see where it is pointing. Back the distributor up a little toward #8, about halfway and drop it in. It should have the rotor pointing toward #1 pretty closely. Keep in mind you are at your initial timin and it needs to fire right then. You can hook up a wire to the coil tower and set it close to a metal object that fire can jump to. Turn on the key. Move the distributor body just a little back and forth with the cap on while the rotor is pointing at #1 until you hear it snap and you see a spark. Tutn off the key. Verify its pointing at #1. Tighten the distributor down. Remove the wire from the coil tower.