BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Keeping street lifters lubed

+3
The Mad Porter
ChrisH
Kobelco
7 posters

Go down

Keeping street lifters lubed Empty Keeping street lifters lubed

Post  Kobelco February 21st 2019, 9:59 pm

Hello Newbie here, question on keeping hydraulic and solid lifter feet alive on street driving duty, not just cruise in drvin but long hwy, I have seen a few tricks on google but what really works?

thanks,
to no zinc and phosphate.

Kobelco

Back to top Go down

Keeping street lifters lubed Empty Re: Keeping street lifters lubed

Post  ChrisH February 21st 2019, 11:08 pm

lucas long drain truck oil

Lucas Long Drain Truck Oil 10076

15w40
it has 1400 ppm zinc. it is not expensive is more than the 1200 ppm many special oils have.
I run flat tappet solid cams in a couple engines and this works fine.
you can order from summit if you cant find it locally.

ChrisH

Back to top Go down

Post  ChrisH February 21st 2019, 11:08 pm

I have 40000 miles on one of those engines

ChrisH

Back to top Go down

Post  The Mad Porter February 23rd 2019, 5:39 pm

We use notched lifter bodies on both HFT and SFT lifters. This entails grinding a .010" flat on the body from the oiling band 80% of the distance to the crown.
As the lifter travels in the bore and rotates this arrangement oils the cam lobes from the TOP down rather than relying on splash.  

My local cam grinders original owner Gerry was friends with the GM engineer that created this fix to alleviate lifter failure in the 2.8 v6 due to lack of splash on I believe the #6 exhaust lifter. Problem solved.
There are several manufacturers now doing this. "Cam Saver lifters" come to mind.
We've been using this mod since 1994.

This serves the same purpose as an EDM hole on a SFT lifter.

Break in specific oil with NO additional additives
Proper cam break in procedure is critical for longevity.