BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Machine Shop Questions

5 posters

Go down

Machine Shop Questions Empty Machine Shop Questions

Post  away September 15th 2010, 1:12 pm

Is this a good business to get in to? I am an automotive Engineering Manager
with a lot of experience on the industrial side of machine tolerences and equipment.

It seems that anytime I call the shop and I use several..... they are always overloaded with work. Even with the down-turn of the economy.

Almost all engineers in the automotive world (at least the ones that I know) are always looking into some kind of business to start or to get into so that they can get out of the automotive day to day "working for the man".

I have been thinking lately about my passion which is "Engines" and "Engine Building". I have even looked into pricing new and used equipment to get started on the side.

I guess I am looking for suggestions on how to start and any info on purchasing equipment etc......what I should start with etc..

I would assume advertising web-sites etc would be use-ful.

I would start by buying the equipment needed to freshen engines and then move into purchasing more equipment as the business grows so that nothing has to go outside.

Looking to start in a year or so. I appreciate all helpful comments

Adrian Way 606-260-0103
away
away

Back to top Go down

Machine Shop Questions Empty Re: Machine Shop Questions

Post  dfree383 September 15th 2010, 1:44 pm

Look into purchasing a complete shop or business first.
dfree383
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Back to top Go down

Post  bbf-falcon September 15th 2010, 6:15 pm

A friend of mine has his own Machine shop and he is always telling me that he gets emails daily about shop auctions from all over the country that are goin out of business.He lurks on here quite a bit and will probably post you the website.Good Luck Smile

bbf-falcon

Back to top Go down