BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Re: sacha

+3
res0rli9
rmcomprandy
holdies12
7 posters

Go down

Re: sacha Empty Re: sacha

Post  holdies12 March 22nd 2012, 4:58 am

Hi folks, I am new to the BBF world, although I have been around engines all my life.
I got my 462 a couple of years ago, It had been sitting outside for a while, so it is seized. I took the heads off & leaned on the crank lightly but shes a stubborn SOB. I have oiled the bores etc & tapped the pistons with a rubber mallet & wooden drift, but only just got a tiny movement at the crank. I want to save this monster, and build a rat rod around it.
Any handy tips would be greatly appreciated. apparently some rebuild kits are still available, & I will need a starter motor at some stage. Maybe you guys can help with what might fit. Hopefully an FE one will do the job.
Maybe I can help you too. Cheers, Sacha. Hamilton, NZ

holdies12

Back to top Go down

Re: sacha Empty Re: Re: sacha

Post  rmcomprandy March 22nd 2012, 8:45 am

holdies12 wrote:Hi folks, I am new to the BBF world, although I have been around engines all my life.
I got my 462 a couple of years ago, It had been sitting outside for a while, so it is seized. I took the heads off & leaned on the crank lightly but shes a stubborn SOB. I have oiled the bores etc & tapped the pistons with a rubber mallet & wooden drift, but only just got a tiny movement at the crank. I want to save this monster, and build a rat rod around it.
Any handy tips would be greatly appreciated. apparently some rebuild kits are still available, & I will need a starter motor at some stage. Maybe you guys can help with what might fit. Hopefully an FE one will do the job.
Maybe I can help you too. Cheers, Sacha. Hamilton, NZ

FORD'S larger version of the GM 348/409 ...

rmcomprandy

http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Post  res0rli9 March 22nd 2012, 10:33 am

Here ya go.