BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT LASH CAPS -----

+2
dfree383
Wayne Pearce
6 posters

Go down

A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT LASH CAPS ----- Empty A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT LASH CAPS -----

Post  Wayne Pearce September 9th 2014, 5:21 pm

Okay, I picked up a pair A429 aluminum CJ heads that have never been bolted to an engine. I didn't notice that there was a bag of Moroso lash caps in the box with the heads. What is the purpose of these, and are they compatible with a mechanical roller cam? Obviously, I've had no experience with them, or I wouldn't be asking such a potentially stupid question, so don't flame me too badly.

Wayne (SAWDOFF) Pearce

Wayne Pearce

Back to top Go down

A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT LASH CAPS ----- Empty Re: A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT LASH CAPS -----

Post  dfree383 September 9th 2014, 5:54 pm

Can be for a couple of different uses

1) you have titanium valves that do not have the wear surface fused to the tip and a hardened lash cap is required for wear.

2) To help correct geometry issues due to rocker selection and valve length selection not being correct.
dfree383
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Back to top Go down

A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT LASH CAPS ----- Empty Re: A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT LASH CAPS -----

Post  bbf-falcon September 9th 2014, 7:32 pm

X2 what Dave said. I've used them for BOTH purposes. Even some stainless valve stems are soft on the tip and lash caps solve the problen of wearing a line thru the tip of the stem.

bbf-falcon

Back to top Go down

Post  Wayne Pearce September 9th 2014, 7:44 pm

Okay, I understand that, but can they be used with a solid roller, what keeps them in place when you have a valve lash of let's say .017, won't they get hammered to death?

Wayne

Wayne Pearce

Back to top Go down

Post  AndyLeslie September 9th 2014, 7:58 pm