BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Valve Springs...

5 posters

Go down

Valve Springs...  Empty Valve Springs...

Post  747JetMech February 6th 2015, 2:20 pm

How do we choose the correct valve spring for our application other than going with the cam manufacture recommendations? I understand coil bind, installed height, open and closed pressure.
Does valve weight ever come into play when selecting a set of valve springs? Titanium VS Inconel VS Stainless..

Thx

Tom
747JetMech
747JetMech

Back to top Go down

Valve Springs...  Empty Re: Valve Springs...

Post  c.evans February 6th 2015, 9:09 pm

Yes, valve weight comes into play Tom. Also RPM comes into play, as does application, such as truck pulling verse drag racing. Do I have any set formula? No. However, I have lots of experience doing cylinder heads, and repairing hurt cylinder heads has given me some insight. The heads will give you clues if you look at and study the valve train components. Things such as beat up valve stems, shiny locks, shiny and scarred spring seat cups, wide valve seats that look like they have been pounded, tips of the valves that have an asterisk * pattern, and so on.

Charlie Evans

c.evans
BBF VENDOR SPONSOR
BBF VENDOR SPONSOR

Back to top Go down

Valve Springs...  Empty Thank You

Post  747JetMech February 6th 2015, 11:40 pm

Thank you for taking the time to answer my question. I think its one of those things best left up to guys like you with the experience. I don't have the wallet to the experience of all the different combinations of valve and springs combinations.
I will be calling you within the next month for help with my Boss heads. They have titanium intake valves and I want to replace them. Once i get a spring compressor big enough to dissemble them, I will remove one and send it to you for replacements of all 8.

Tom
747JetMech
747JetMech

Back to top Go down