BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Differences in C6 transmissions

+5
Greg_P
Old blue Racin Team
Homespun91
OldRedFord
89LX
9 posters

Go down

Differences in C6 transmissions Empty Differences in C6 transmissions

Post  89LX August 12th 2009, 11:53 am

I am new to the BBF scene. I have been on the other site for a few months just researching the valuable info that was available thanks to many of you knowledgable guys. I recently purchased a complete dove motor with a c6. The motor and trans came out of a 71 Lincoln. It is a long shaft trans. What are the differences besides tail shaft? Is this good to build or should I find a short shaft? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am wanting to build a 521 and put in my 89 LX coupe.
89LX
89LX

Back to top Go down

Differences in C6 transmissions Empty Re: Differences in C6 transmissions

Post  OldRedFord August 12th 2009, 12:07 pm

Shift and kick down tabs on the side of the case have lots of different styles.
OldRedFord
OldRedFord

Back to top Go down

Post  Homespun91 August 12th 2009, 12:16 pm

If you are planning to rebuild the C6 completely anyway, it can be easily converted to a short shaft, or whatever configuration you need (transfer case, specific light truck, etc., etc.) If you don't want to rebuild it, and need the short shaft version, then you are probably better off trading it. I don't know if a short shaft C6 is preferred in a Fox body for driveline angles, but someone should be able to answer that.

Some guys prefer the C6 cases with the strengthening ribs on the top, but they don't easily fit into certain transmission tunnels.

Bottom line is that they are all pretty good starting points.
Homespun91
Homespun91

Back to top Go down

Post  Old blue Racin Team August 13th 2009, 9:00 am

Welcome abaord man nice project you got there
Old blue Racin Team
Old blue Racin Team

Back to top Go down