BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Out from the shadows and finally have a BBF

3 posters

Go down

Out from the shadows and finally have a BBF Empty Out from the shadows and finally have a BBF

Post  dignlif March 24th 2022, 12:55 pm

Hey folks,

Rich Pedraza here. I've been around a long time but never had anything to add since I've been in dreamer mode with my pooch 429W running 11's. I finally upgraded to a big block with the generous help of my good friend Bill Fowler. I bought his 'little' engine for my '67 Mustang when he decided to go another route on one of his projects. It's an A head 572 with only 11:1 compression for street manners as I like to run the Drag n Drive events, which I've been doing since 2009. After a year of struggling to fit it in while still keeping it legal for a particular drag and drive class, I finally got it lit just before Rocky Mountain Raceweek 1.0 2021. This first event was certainly an adventure and although I somehow ran a 10.50@128 in Denver with a DA of 8,800, a couple issues caused me problems during that whole week and at Hotrod Dragweek a few months later. Although I finished both events, the car just wasn't doing what we expected.