BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Progress on the T-Bird

4 posters

Go down

Progress on the T-Bird Empty Progress on the T-Bird

Post  t-bird racer April 17th 2023, 10:48 am

Well after the long dry spell I’m finally making good progress on getting the T-Bird back to race ready. It’s been down for over 16 months. I’ve replaced the flex plate, Glide Case and Bell housing, installed an external trans cooling pump, replaced all the fuel lines, repacked the wheel bearings, replaced the seat belts, and four new Hoosiers. Friday night we hit the gas pedal three or four times and the old Ford lit right off! I added some trans fluid and I shifted through all the gears and it moved under its own power!

I’m quite proud of myself as I have never built a glide before. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. Hoping to get out to Maryland for a test and tune soon!
t-bird racer
t-bird racer

cool40, Mark Miller and John Myrick like this post

Back to top Go down

Progress on the T-Bird Empty Re: Progress on the T-Bird

Post  t-bird racer May 9th 2023, 4:37 pm

Well, after over 18 months of not making a pass, I finally made it to the test and tune at Maryland
International raceway on Sunday May 7,2023. New Reid case, bell housing, Meziere Billet flex plate, starter, New Belts, 4 new Hoosiers. Freshened Meziere water pump. New AN fuel lines, filters, needle and seats. I went over everything.

So I drove the car around the pits, warmed up the trans, converter, and rear and waited to be called to the lanes. We get called up and I’ll have to admit, I was pretty nervous, as I’ve never assembled a glide before.
I get in the water box, do a nice long burn out to break in the new slicks. I told my son I was going to
Take the light and shut it down at the 1/8 mile.