BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

combustion chamber shape

3 posters

Go down

combustion chamber shape Empty combustion chamber shape

Post  Larry Williams February 6th 2010, 11:49 am

Its been many years since I built racing engines for a living. ( 1972 ) The engineering now is amazing and so different.
My thoughts on combustion chamber design may be way off base but here goes.
It seems to me that the combustion chamber shape so popular now is designed for flat top pistons.
Now comes the part where I could be out in left field. With a 1/4 inch pop up on the piston, should the chamber be reshaped to allow better a/f flow?
I have in the last 3 years built 3 motors for the drag strip. a 331 and a 393 small blocks both running low 10's and a 545 just waiting to be mounted. I have a 351 with pop up pistons to build this summer as a lower horse power motor for my daughter to learn to drive with on the strip.

Back to top Go down

combustion chamber shape Empty Re: combustion chamber shape

Post  the Coug February 6th 2010, 12:01 pm

Larry I think if you massage the domes to fit the chambers they will be fine, I have flat tops in my engine and when it changes I will be putting a smallish dome on them so to get the compression up to where I want it..... these BBF seem to like compression in the 14 to 1 + range..... I can not see where the small block would be any different....

Randy
the Coug
the Coug

Back to top Go down

Post  Larry Williams February 6th 2010, 12:11 pm

thanks Randy. My 393 and 545 engines are around 14:1 with the smaller 351 I was concerned about how the higher dome would affect the gasses swirl with a chamber designed for a flat top piston. Is my thinking on this close?
Larry Williams
Larry Williams

Back to top Go down

Post  the Coug February 6th 2010, 12:36 pm