BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

first build lots of ?s

5 posters

Go down

first build lots of ?s Empty first build lots of ?s

Post  jlang September 18th 2009, 12:55 am

this is my first build,

this is the build plan so far
i have a block is d1ve aa bored .040 c8 heads

carb-was planning edel performer series carb

inatake manifold-edelbrock performer rpm

ignition-msd-6a ignition control with msd blaster 2 coil

cam- comp cams hydrolic xtreme energy xe 274h

is this a good build for a performance street motor so far?

also why doesnt the edelbrock performer carb work on the performer rpm intake manifold

and i read on here about weind 8012? i think you guys said it was a lil better than the performer rpm

my teacher said that when people are building good performance motors they dont really use edelbrock carbs why is that and if so what carb should i use and would it work with the performer rpm intake

and will the 800cfm be too much i originally planned on using the performer 750 carb but it doesnt have a 750 in the thunder

what valve train set up should i use (springs lifters push rods etc.)

are rollers worth the extra money

or should i just scrap all this and start from scratch again

and please dont send me to another site thhis is the third one ive been sent to

jlang

Back to top Go down

first build lots of ?s Empty Re: first build lots of ?s

Post  schmitty September 18th 2009, 1:15 am

What is the motor going in?

What are your goals/expectations for this car?

What is your budget?

Nothing really wrong with either intake manifold, but depending on engine size and operating range of motor, the Stealth may be a better choice, or may not.

The Eddy carbs are not as much of a performance carb as the Holley based stuff. Depending on goals, a larger carb may be required to feed your mill. Cool
schmitty
schmitty

Back to top Go down

Post  jlang September 18th 2009, 1:21 am