BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

UNDER SQUARE vs OVER SQUARE

+8
kim
rmcomprandy
Dave De
460pulling
Lem Evans
bbf-falcon
dfree383
powerstrokeace
12 posters

Go down

UNDER SQUARE vs OVER SQUARE Empty UNDER SQUARE vs OVER SQUARE

Post  powerstrokeace May 8th 2014, 9:57 am

CAN SOME ONE EXPLAIN THIS. LARGE BORE SHORT STROKE VS SMALL BORE LONG STROKE

ACE
powerstrokeace
powerstrokeace

Back to top Go down

UNDER SQUARE vs OVER SQUARE Empty Re: UNDER SQUARE vs OVER SQUARE

Post  dfree383 May 8th 2014, 10:41 am

Bigger bores allow better heads..... But heads being limited..... Displacement is displacement.
dfree383
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Back to top Go down

Post  bbf-falcon May 8th 2014, 11:15 am

Bigger Bore short stroke engines seem to like higher rpms,longer stroke seem to be more torque oriented. I'm not a expert,just what I've observed.

bbf-falcon

Back to top Go down

Post  Lem Evans May 8th 2014, 11:35 am

Big bore = more room for the valves. Unless one is restricted by rules run a big bore & stroke  Twisted Evil 

Lem Evans

http://bfevansraceparts.com

Back to top Go down

Post  460pulling May 8th 2014, 12:09 pm

Lem Evans wrote:Big bore = more room for the valves. Unless one is restricted by rules run a big bore & stroke  Twisted Evil 

^^^^^No replacement for displacement.  Very Happy 

460pulling

Back to top Go down

Post  Dave De May 8th 2014, 6:27 pm

bbf-falcon wrote:Bigger Bore short stroke engines seem to like higher rpms,longer stroke seem to be more torque oriented. I'm not a expert,just what I've observed.

This is what I've been told as well, but those pistons are heavy compared to long stroke so what gives? Heavy pistons for high reving? Still doesnt go together.

Square seem to be right (for what its worth).
Dave De
Dave De

Back to top Go down

Post  Lem Evans May 8th 2014, 6:50 pm

I also like a square engine also.....4-5/8" X 4-5/8".