BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Blue Thunder CJ heads/Stroker combination questions

3 posters

Go down

Blue Thunder CJ heads/Stroker combination questions Empty Blue Thunder CJ heads/Stroker combination questions

Post  Faststreetcar April 3rd 2011, 11:07 pm

Hello-

I'm new to big block Fords, but not new to Fords or racing. I picked up the top half of an engine from a local racer (impulse buy), and I'm still figuring out what I should do with it. I was impressed by the engine it came off of, because it was a relatively low budget combo. Ported blue thunder heads (BBC exhaust), victor 460 intake, cast crank, cheap aluminum rods, stock block, 532cid. From what I understand the cam was around .700 lift and was limited by piston to valve clearance. Compression was around 13 or 13.5:1. This engine made 870HP on the dyno, which I thought was great. It went 148mph @ 3200#, so I don't think it was a happy dyno either.

Regardless, I'm trying to decide if I should put together a similar combination and have fun, or if I should build a bigger engine, or if I should tame it down and build a bigger engine with less compression and run it on pump gas.

My questions are:

1. How big a motor can this top half support (I got heads, intake, rockers, pushrods, etc from the engine above) ?
2. How big a motor can a stock block support?
3. How much power can be made on pump gas (if I go that route), and how big should the engine be if I do that?

Thanks very much for any help you can provide.

Faststreetcar

http://www.detroitracing.com

Back to top Go down

Blue Thunder CJ heads/Stroker combination questions Empty Re: Blue Thunder CJ heads/Stroker combination questions

Post  schmitty April 3rd 2011, 11:29 pm

#1and 2. Sounds like you are wanting to do a stock block deal. 557ci is normal for top ci in a stock block. These heads would do fine.