BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Question on dual pattern camshafts

5 posters

Go down

Question on dual pattern camshafts Empty Question on dual pattern camshafts

Post  manofmerc April 18th 2011, 6:23 pm

This is my first time posting on here .So here we go .Most 385 series engine buildersknow to use a camshaft with more lift and duration on the exhaust .This is common knowledge .And most flat tappet or rollers use 10 degrees more duration on the exhaust side .And a corrosponding amount of ex lift .I have been looking through a lunati catalog and a lot of there cams have around 7 degrees more ex duration .Tell me if you keep the difference in duration tighter (6-7) degrees as opposed to 10 degrees what will the effect be ? More torque,less top end ,or what ?I have a 3440 lbs dragcar 466 edel heads no porting perf rpm airgap 950 qf carb 11.67 compression 17/8 headers reed solid 584 250 603 259 correct valvetrain c6 with a to tight 10convertor 456 gears .It runs 7.26 in the eighth And 11.30@118.6I have been considering this lunati solid flat tappet cam.Pn.416a4lun 252/259 633/636 by the way my reeed cam and this lunati both have 108 lobe seperation .I really am wondering if there would be much difference between the two cams .Looking to pickup torque to move my heavy comet bracket racer .By the wayI dont really abuse it 6000 rpm shifts and 5600 through the lights .And I now have a much better ati 8inch convertor but I havent installed it yet .Sorry for the long post but I tryed to put my correct info out there Thanks manofmerc

manofmerc
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Back to top Go down

Question on dual pattern camshafts Empty Re: Question on dual pattern camshafts

Post  rmcomprandy April 18th 2011, 6:46 pm

There's a whole lot more to it than you are trying to simplify here.