BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Disc brake set up for 9''

5 posters

Go down

Disc brake set up for 9'' Empty Disc brake set up for 9''

Post  tconnection February 2nd 2014, 2:42 am

Does anybody have some pics of how discs brakes are installed? Bearings are already installed on the axles. Do the bearings need pressing off?
Thanks for any info.

tconnection

Back to top Go down

Disc brake set up for 9'' Empty Re: Disc brake set up for 9''

Post  austin460 February 2nd 2014, 8:34 am

Are you using an aftermarket kit or fabbiing your own caliper brackets? When I converted mine I didn't need to remove bearings. I used Mercedes 190 discs and Ford Granada calipers as these incorporate a parking brake. Don't know if that last bit is any help as I am in the UK. If its any help I can take some photos of what I did and email them to you. I would post them up but im not that good with technology.
austin460
austin460

Back to top Go down

Post  jbozzelle February 2nd 2014, 1:03 pm

What kit do you have? If you need to buy one Speedway Motors sells an inexpensive kit that uses GM metric calipers and has a weld on bracket.

jbozzelle

Back to top Go down

Post  aquartlow February 2nd 2014, 2:42 pm

I have a small bearing housing out of a '72 Lincoln Mark IV with 9 3/8 ring gear installed in my '79 Ranchero that I used 2000 Crown Vic rear discs/calipers/mounting brackets for my rear disc conversion. Here are some pics.

This pic shows where the bottom of the axle flange had to be trimmed to allow CV backing plate install.
Disc brake set up for 9'' Fishing-ranchero-brake-and-axle-025

This pic shows the CV backing plate/caliper mounting bracket assembly installed loosely.
Disc brake set up for 9'' Fishing-ranchero-brake-and-axle-030