BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

1986 Ford F-250 aftermarket cylinder heads, what to buy for my stock truck?

+3
the Coug
butterbean
1970ls
7 posters

Go down

1986 Ford F-250 aftermarket cylinder heads, what to buy for my stock truck? Empty 1986 Ford F-250 aftermarket cylinder heads, what to buy for my stock truck?

Post  1970ls March 17th 2015, 9:37 pm

Newbie here and a newbie to Ford trucks as far as working on them, but have had several starting with a 1967 split rim Camper Special with a 352

I just bought this truck, one owner, never a work truck and just what I wanted. Previous owner had already taken off the air pump, I continued by taking off the 4 3/8" lines from each exhaust manifold and the
manifolds themselves when the nuts on the lines were frozen. Got the passenger side manifold off with not much trouble but on the driver side have already broken 4 bolts, and one is broke off flush with the head. Firmly believe I have to pull the head to get those studs out but would like your opinion and how to get those studs out on the motor. Now I am looking at pulling that head and in that situation I would pull both. If I am going to do that thinking of changing to the Eddy head. They have several and I don't know what combustion chamber to order and even if I can use my stock rockers or have to go with aftermarket adjustable.

Thoughts, comments? Dave

1970ls

Back to top Go down

1986 Ford F-250 aftermarket cylinder heads, what to buy for my stock truck? Empty Re: 1986 Ford F-250 aftermarket cylinder heads, what to buy for my stock truck?

Post  butterbean March 18th 2015, 7:24 am

1970ls wrote:Newbie here and a newbie to Ford trucks as far as working on them, but have had several starting with a 1967 split rim Camper Special with a 352