BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Complete newbie, feeling out first project

+4
bbf-falcon
cletus66
dfree383
vaehlin
8 posters

Go down

Complete newbie, feeling out first project Empty Complete newbie, feeling out first project

Post  vaehlin July 11th 2015, 8:42 am

Lets start with the amount of experience I have building/working on pushrod engines: zero. I've been absorbing all the knowledge I can across the web, and looking the start my first project in the next few months, and have a few questions.
I'm looking to put together a 450-500 hp foxbody with a 460, mild build, street only. I currently have nothing for it. My total budget, including the transmission, rear end, chassis, and everything I need to make it go is 20k.
Firstly, I'm wondering how practical building vs buying is. A small part of the reason I want to embark on my project is the learning experience of building, but having no practical knowledgebase and no friends/family to pull from, I'm wondering if having someone build the engine for me might be a better path.
Second, if I choose to build, given my lack of experience, I was thinking about using all new parts, including the block, just to eliminate as many potential issues as possible. Is this completely insane given my intended use and budget? I realize this will cost me a decent amount of money, but my goal is to build a bulletproof car, overbuilding is a plus, since I wont be the only common driver, and I'm hoping to not run into things breaking because I skimped in places; a reliable daily driver. It seems like all the build guides for the level of car I want to build, and even most of the crates that are fairly similar to what I'm trying to do use a stock block/heads/crank, with some machine work.

vaehlin

Back to top Go down

Complete newbie, feeling out first project Empty Re: Complete newbie, feeling out first project

Post  dfree383 July 11th 2015, 9:13 am