BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What class should I be looking at.

5 posters

Go down

What class should I be looking at. Empty What class should I be looking at.

Post  79Puller January 17th 2014, 9:47 pm

Getting into drag racing a little and looking for rules to which class I should be in and cant seem to find any. I have a 66 Fairlane with a 521 with 2 fours, auto trans C6 ( does have brake ) narrowed and tubed rearend with 29in tires. Car is caged also but is a pro-street and is street driven. Just wondering where I should be looking for rules and what they should be. Thanks and again I am new to this so any help would be great.

79Puller

Back to top Go down

What class should I be looking at. Empty Re: What class should I be looking at.

Post  69bluehotrod January 17th 2014, 11:04 pm

Depends on track, if you have "no box" or "foot brake" deal @ your local track those are usually a good starting point, that being said welcome to the dark side brotha!!! Twisted Evil 
69bluehotrod
69bluehotrod
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

http://rainbowvacuumsalesservice.com/

Back to top Go down

Post  DILLIGASDAVE January 18th 2014, 5:11 am

Yup, that does depend on the track, and what kinda racing you want to do. If you're looking at weekend bracket racing, what type classes are pretty much up to the individual tracks. The most obvious choices are as mentioned the "pick your own dial-in" deals like no-electronics/foot brake classes & and the electronics/box classes. Then there are the bracket classes where a designated index/dial-in is assigned to everyone in that bracket class (like the 7.0, 6.0, 5.0, & 4.70 classes). In bracket racing the rules are simple & more focused on safety & box vs foot brake. Engine size, weight, power adder, tire size, chassis type, (etc, etc) usually really don't matter in B/R rules most of the time.