BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

429 for a jet boat

+5
LivermoreDave
Lem Evans
DaveMcLain
dfree383
coreyflipp
9 posters

Go down

429 for a jet boat Empty 429 for a jet boat

Post  coreyflipp June 10th 2010, 3:05 pm

I'm thinking of buying a jet boat, basically just the hull from a buddy of mine.

I have a 429 that came out of a 73 mercury marquis that ran when I took it out and the odometer had 80k on it. What would it take to make this thing run good using the stock heads that are on it. If I remember right the number that is on the heads is D VE A2A, there a blank space between the D and V. Here's what I was thinking.

Stock bottom end
Trickflow R Intake and 750-850ish carb
OTS comp hyd roller cam
roller rockers
Stainless valves, upgrade springs, retainers keepers
Jet boat headers
New timing chain, balancer.

I'm new to BBF's, I'm a 5 liter mustang guy.

Is a 429 even worth building? Could these internals hold up to constant 4-5k+ rpms that a boat turns?
Would a 460 conversion be worth it? I'd like to keep it on a budget and if it blows up then build the bottom end.

coreyflipp

Back to top Go down

429 for a jet boat Empty Re: 429 for a jet boat

Post  dfree383 June 10th 2010, 3:21 pm

IMO if its a budget build the 429 stuff will work fine, but if you have the $$$ a 460 or strokes is better.

I do a Hydraulic FT (And appropriate valve train pcs), Performer RPM or Stealth, 850 holley type carb, good Oil pan and parts. freshen up whats worn out and go with it.

I wouldn't spend the money on the HR stuff.
dfree383
dfree383
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Back to top Go down

Post  coreyflipp June 10th 2010, 3:27 pm

Would the money spent on roller cam and lifters not be worth the performance gains? Do you know if stock internals would hold up well to rpms?

coreyflipp

Back to top Go down

Post  dfree383 June 10th 2010, 3:46 pm