BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Getting ready to put a 4 link in the truck advice needed

+2
DILLIGASDAVE
schmitty
6 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Getting ready to put a 4 link in the truck advice needed Empty Getting ready to put a 4 link in the truck advice needed

Post  schmitty February 27th 2011, 7:47 pm

Any good words of advice on putting the 4 link in the truck? I am getting a partial kit with axle brackets, and tubes. The frame brackets are being made special for a truck application. I have never done anything like this before, and would like some advice from those that have as far as do's and do not's. Cool After it is in, I'm sure I'll have a lot of questions on how to properly adjust it too.
schmitty
schmitty

Back to top Go down

Getting ready to put a 4 link in the truck advice needed Empty Re: Getting ready to put a 4 link in the truck advice needed

Post  DILLIGASDAVE March 1st 2011, 5:11 am

A simple trick for getting all the rod-end holes of the 4 housing brackets (and 4 chassis brackets) as close to being in line as possible before welding is to assemble the brackets & rod-ends with long all-thread rods & nuts (in place of the bolts & nuts).
DILLIGASDAVE
DILLIGASDAVE

Back to top Go down

Getting ready to put a 4 link in the truck advice needed Empty Re: Getting ready to put a 4 link in the truck advice needed

Post  schmitty March 1st 2011, 10:40 am

Very Happy Thanks Dave. I was wondering if there wasn't a trick to doing that, and that will be simple and easy to do. I think I have quite a few sticks of 1/2" all thread laying around. Should have the stuff here by next week and get started on it then. Cool
schmitty
schmitty

Back to top Go down

Post  KY JELLY March 1st 2011, 12:38 pm

Verify your housing is in square now and make several reference points (punch marks etc ) to measure to after the 4 link is tacked in place.
KY JELLY
KY JELLY