BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cheap 460 thrasher build plan for bracket tbird

+7
supervel45
stanger68
the tree man
dfree383
BBFTorino
manofmerc
Doxnoogle
11 posters

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down

Cheap 460 thrasher build plan for bracket tbird Empty Cheap 460 thrasher build plan for bracket tbird

Post  Doxnoogle July 31st 2022, 7:14 am

Got a lot of down time at work, finding myself building my next project in my head. Its easy to picture it finished, a pro-stock /pro-street inspired 83/84 Thunderbird. Someday it will be home to a 500+ monster, but wheres the fun without progression. Immediate plan is fairly simple, build the gnarliest 460 i can without spending money on stuff that wont be used in the future. Starting out with a 70 or 71 engine, dont have hands on yet, its a state away, "ran but needs rebuilt". I have some experience with porting, not a lot, but i got a set of gt40p's to 226/ 182 before i turned them into scrap. Am confident in doing acceptable bowl work. With that in mind i do plan to keep the stock heads for this stage of the project. I assume theyre D0 heads, but "couldve come off a 429" from what ive been able to find both wouldve had the same head except the CJ.